MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Umbarger at 1:30 on January 21, 2003 in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Senator Corbin, excused		
Committee staff present:	Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Kathie Sparks, Legislative Research Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Judy Steinlicht, Secretary	
		Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, State Board of Education Juliann (Julie) Bliese, USD #489, Hays, Barbara Fowler, USD #253, Emporia Nils Gabrielson, USD #266, Maize Trey Harrison, USD #490, ElDorado Jada Kohlmeier, USD #232, DeSoto Diane Liebsch, USD #409, Atchison Pamela (Pam) Tipton, USD #345, Seaman

Others attending: See Attached List

Dale Dennis Deputy Commissioner of the State Board of Education introduced the Teacher of the Year Team to the Committee. The Teacher of the Year, Ruth Ann Gharst, USD #233, Olathe, was unable to be here as she had just given birth. Each member of the team was present and spoke to the Committee about the students and subjects they teach, their goals and experiences and the new and changing requirements in teaching. Questions and discussion followed with the Committee.

Senator Schodorf made a motion to approve the minutes of January 16, 2003. Seconded by Senator Emler. Motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE at TIME on January 14, 2003 in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2