MINUTES OF THE FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS & INSURANCE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator Ruth Teichman at 9:30 a.m. on January 15, 2003 in Room 234-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Senator Dave Corbin, excused Senator David Adkins, excused

Committee staff present: Ken Wilke, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Dr. Bill Wolff, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Marlene Putnam, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Michael C. McGrew: Chairperson of the Credit Scoring Task Force

Others attending: See attached list

Senator Teichman introduced the Credit Scoring Task Force chairperson, Mike McGrew.

Mr. McGrew reported that there were no resources allocated for this task force, and the support that we received from the volunteers in the insurance department was greatly appreciated. Linda Decoursey is here representing them today. Jerry Forbes an Brent Geddy were also very helpful.

Mr. McGrew again stressed that the committee did not have any resources, so all of the people involved were doing it because of their interest in having a good product. He then introduced his vice-chair, Marta Linenberger. The other members of the task force introduced themselves. The members of the legislature on the Task Force were: Seanators Ruth Teichman, and Paul Feleciano, and Representatives Garry Boston and Jim Garner.

Non-Legislative members: Matt All, Tony Kimmi, Jim Hsarwood, Brad Smoot, Richard Tuarano, Bsruce White, Vanda Easley, Cindy Hower, and Duane Becker. The task force staff ws: Linda DeCoursey, Brent Getty, and Jarrod Forbes.

Mr. McGrew made a point of calling this the correcst name: Insurance Credit Scoring. It is not Mortgage Credit Scoring. The committee began meeting in October, and they had testimony from a great many insurance companies and agents. The conclusions and Viewpoints and be found in the report that was handed out. (Attachment 1)

Senator Teichman urged the committee to read the entire report.

1. The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 16, 2003.