Approved: January 28, 2004 Date

## MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Les Donovan at 1:30 p.m. on January 21, 2004 in Memorial Hall.

All members were present.

Senator Adkins - excused Senator Pugh - absent Senator Schodorf - excused Senator Goodwin - excused

Committee staff present: Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department Bruce Kinzie, Revisors of Statutes Marian F. Holeman, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Deb Miller, Secretary, Kansas Department of Transportation

Others attending: See Attached List.

Chairman Donovan introduced Deb Miller, Secretary, KDOT to summarize the current status of the Comprehensive Transportation Program (CPT). Today's meeting is the last of the scheduled KDOT "Special Legislative Information Presentations, 2004." Ms. Miller addressed the CPT projects programed for FY 2005-2009; sales tax transfers - actual or proposed; state highway fund debt service payments from CTP and CHP; CTP debt restructuring and refunding; CTP projects for FY 2000-2009; CTP major modification interstate & non-interstate and priority bridge projects; and CHP, Interim, and CTP projects (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

Question and answer period focused primarily on sales tax transfers; debt restructuring, and funding stream for completing the Comprehensive Transportation Program.

Meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

The next Senate Transportation Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, January 22, 2004 at 8:30 a.m. in the new committee room - 527-S of the Capitol.