MINUTES OF THE SENATE UTILITIES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Stan Clark at 9:30 a.m. on January 22, 2004 in Room 526-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present: Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes Ranev Gilliland, Legislative Research Emalene Correll, Legislative Research Ann McMorris, Secretary Conferees appearing before the committee: Jo Ann Heiman, Chief of the Chemical Risk Information Branch; Air, RCRA and Toxics Division, Environmental Protection Agency William Eastman, Westar Michael V. Engel, Midwest Energy, Inc., Hays Colin Hansen, Kansas Municipal Utilities, McPherson Joe Dick, Regulatory Specialist, Kansas City Ks. Board of Publilc Utilities Terry Eaton, Kansas City Power & Light, KC Gene Russell, Aquila Whitney Damron, Empire District Electric Company Dave Holthaus, Kansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (KEC)

Others attending: See Attached List.

Introduction of Bills

Moved by Senator Wagle, seconded by Senator Emler, introduction of a bill to amend KSA 58-2221an Act concerning wind resources and technologies; relating to the recording of leases or easements related thereto. Motion carried. (Attachment 1)

PCBs Information

Jo Ann Heiman of Environmental Protection Agency reviewed the background on the EPA authority to regulate PCBs and other chemicals, and provided a description of PCBs and the waste disposal requirements. (Attachment 2)

The following conferees were given questions to address regarding PCBs. The questions were: (1) the extent which PCB transformers can be identified and their location; (2) the number of known transformers/voltage regulators in the Kansas distribution system which contain PCBs; (3) problems identified with the disposal of transformers containing PCBs; and (4) Actions to replace transformers containing PCBs over the past ten years, the net results of those actions, and plans for the future regarding transformers containing PCBs.

William Eastman, Westar (<u>Attachment 3</u>)
Michael V. Engel, Midwest Energy, Inc., Hays (<u>Attachment 4</u>)
Colin Hansen, Kansas Municipal Utilities, McPherson (<u>Attachment 5</u>)
Joe Dick, Regulatory Specialist, Kansas City Ks. Board of Public Utilities (<u>Attachment 6</u>)
Terry Eaton, Kansas City Power & Light, KC (<u>Attachment 7</u>)
Gene Russell, Aquila (<u>Attachment 8</u>)
Whitney Damron, Empire District Electric Company (<u>Attachment 9</u>)
Dave Holthaus, Kansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (<u>Attachment 10</u>)

The next meeting of the Senate Utilities Committee will be held on Monday, January 26. Adjournment. Respectfully submitted, Ann McMorris, Secretary Attachments - 10