Approved: March 16, 2005

MINUTES OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON SCHOOL FINANCE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Kathe Decker at 12 noon on February 21, 2005 in Room 519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Office Art Griggs, Revisor of Statutes Office Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Kay Heley, Shawnee Mission
Mark R. Jorgenson, Civic Council of Greater KC
Brad Stauffer - Topeka, USD 501
Mark Tallman, KASB
Sharon Hand, KS Assoc. For Career Tech. Ed
Kathy Cook, Ks Families United for Public Ed
Missy Taylor, former educator
Bob VanCrum, Blue Valley USD 229
Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Dept. Of Ed

<u>HB 2474 - concerning schools and school districts; concerning the State Board of Ed and the State Dept.</u> of Ed.

Appearing in opposition of **HB 2474** were:

Kay Heley, (<u>Attachment 1</u>); Mark R. Jorgenson, (<u>Attachment 2</u>); Brad Stauffer, (<u>Attachment 3</u>); Mark Tallman, (<u>Attachments 4 and 5</u>); Sharon Hand, (<u>Attachment 6</u>); Kathy Cook, (<u>Attachment 7</u>); Missy Taylor, (<u>Attachment 8</u>); Bob VanCrum, (<u>Attachment 9</u>) and Dale Dennis, (<u>Attachment 10</u>).

Written testimony only in opposition to <u>HB 2474</u> was offered by Amelia McIntyre of Shawnee Mission, (<u>Attachment 11</u>).

This portion of the hearing on **HB 2474** was closed.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30. The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 22, 2005.