MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Kathe Decker at 9:00 on January 17, 2006 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Kathe Decker- excused

Committee staff present:

Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Carolyn Rampey, Kansas Legislative Research Art Griggs, Office of Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Secretary

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairperson, Deena Horst who introduced the two new members of the Committee, Ward Loyd and Dale Swenson.

Representative Tim Owens offered the introduction of a bill concerning school terms, holidays and inservice training. (Attachment 1).

Representative Loyd made the motion that was seconded by Representative Yonally to accept Representative Owens' bill to be introduced by the Committee. The motion carried on a voice vote. Representative Otto wished to be recorded as a "no" vote.

Representative Kelsey offered a conceptual bill concerning the modification of the charter school and to allow the appeal to the Kansas State School Board.

It was moved by Representative Loyd and seconded by Representative Holland to accept Representative Kelsey's bill. The motion passed on a voice vote.

Deputy Commissioner of the State Department of Education, Dale Dennis was called upon to introduce 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year, Ronald Poplau of Shawnee Mission Northwest High who spoke briefly of his career in education. (Attachments 2 and 3).

Others to address the Committee were the 2006 Kansas Regional Teachers of the Year; Laurie Mercer, Betty Peterson, Betsy Leonard Wiens, Tana Priddy, Pamela Olson, Letitia Petitjean and Roxie Peterson.

Questions and answers followed.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:25. The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 24, 2006.