## MINUTES

### JOINT COMMITTEE ON INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

January 12, 2006 Room 526-S—Statehouse

#### **Members Present**

Senator Tim Huelskamp, Chairperson Representative John Faber, Vice Chairperson Representative Jim Morrison Representative Harold Lane Representative Nile Dillmore (by telephone) Senator Vicki Schmidt

#### Staff

Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department Matt Spurgin, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mary Torrence, Revisor of Statutes Office Diana Lee, Revisor of Statutes Office Gary Deeter, Committee Secretary

# **Morning Session**

The meeting was called to order by Representative John Faber, the former Chairperson prior to the 2006 Session, at 8:15 a.m.

Revisor of Statutes staff reviewed a bill draft recommended for introduction by the Committee at its meeting of December 12-13, 2005, which defines what costs would be considered for information technology projects. (That bill draft was introduced as 2006 SB 364 and a copy of that document may be found at the website: http://www.kslegislature.org/bills/2006/364.pdf)

Revisor of Statutes staff also explained the Attorney General's Opinion No. 2006-3 that was issued in response to the Committee's concern about separation of powers. (A copy of that document may be found at the website: http://www.kscourts.org/ksag/opinions/2006/2006-003.htm)

Representative Faber invited nominations for Chairperson. Senator Huelskamp was nominated by Senator Schmidt, seconded by Representative Lane. There being no other

nominations, Senator Schmidt moved, seconded by Representative Lane, that Senator Huelskamp be elected Chairperson by acclamation. <u>The motion was adopted</u>.

Chairperson Huelskamp asked if there were nominations for Vice Chairperson. *Representative Faber was nominated by Representative Morrison, seconded by Senator Schmidt. There being no other nominations, Representative Morrison moved, seconded by Senator Schmidt, that Representative Faber be elected Vice Chairperson by acclamation.* <u>The motion was adopted</u>.

The minutes for January 6, 2006, were <u>approved</u> on a motion by Senator Schmidt, seconded by Representative Lane.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 a.m.

Prepared by Gary Deeter Edited by Julian Efird

Approved by Committee on:

February 1, 2006

43186~(2/2/6{10:09AM})