Approved: March 1, 2005

Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Mark Taddiken at 8:30 A.M. on February 15, 2005 in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Raney Gilliland, Kansas Legislative Research Lisa Montgomery, Office of Revisor of Statues Jacqui Jones, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Constantine Cotsoradis, Assistant Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA)

Others attending:

See an attached list.

Minutes of February 8, 2005 were distributed to the Committee. Chairman Taddiken advised the Committee that he would be asking for approval of the minutes at the end of the meeting.

At this point Chairman Taddiken asked the Committee and they agreed to work <u>SB-113</u> - <u>which</u> <u>raises the registration fees for soil amendment products</u>. Senator Pine moved, seconded by Senator Francisco that the bill be passed. There was no discussion. The motion carried and the bill passed.

Chairman Taddiken asked Raney Gilliland, Legislative Research Department, 00t000000 give an overview of

<u>SB-219</u> - <u>creating the Pest Control Compact</u> to the Committee.

Assistant Secretary Constantine Cotsoradis, KDA testified in support of <u>SB-219</u> which allows the adoption of model language taken from the Interstate Pest Control Compact, thereby allowing KDA to keep voting privileges. Presently, KDA is a dues-paying member with full voting rights, but stands to lose those rights if the model language is not adopted.

Mr. Cotsoradis stated that an important reason for membership in the Interstate Pest Control Compact is prevention of plant pests from entering and becoming established in Kansas. A voting member will be able to participate fully in the compact and ensure the state receives possible needed assistance in the future.

The Assistant Secretary stood for questions.

Chairman Taddiken closed the hearing and heard the wishes of the Committee to work the bill today.

Senator Francisco moved to pass <u>SB-219</u> favorably. The motion was seconded by Senator Pine and passed unanimously.

Chairman Taddiken asked the Committee to approve the minutes of February 8, 2005. <u>Senator</u> <u>Schmidt moved, seconded by Senator Morris, that the minutes of February 8, 2005 be approved.</u>

Chairman Taddiken closed the meeting at 9:00 a.m.

The next meeting of the Agriculture Committee will be held on February 16, 2005.