Approved:	February 16, 2006
_	Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jean Schodorf at 1:35 p.m. on February 1, 2006, in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

Committee members absent:

Committee staff present: Carolyn Rampey, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Shirley Higgins, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department

Education

Dr. Alexa Posny, Deputy Commission, Division of Learning

Services, Kansas Department of Education

Overview of federal funding for the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB)

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education, began his overview by distributing copies of a table showing estimated federal allocations for education programs for school year 2006-2007, based on 2006 Congressional action reducing all federal programs to help fund the defense spending bill. (Attachment 1) He then distributed a table showing estimated federal allocations to fund NCLB for school year 2006-2007, based on 2006 congressional action reducing all federal programs to help fund the defense spending bill. (Attachment 2) He pointed out that funding for special education was eliminated from federal allocations to fund NCLB.

Senator Vratil asked which of the programs listed in the first handout have federal funds administered pursuant to the Title I formula. Mr. Dennis responded, "A lot of those have different formulas. They're not all alike. Title I is tied to Title 1, and most of the others will have a different formula from the federal level. There are some, for example, that are competitive grants." Senator Vratil requested that Mr. Dennis compile specific information on the programs administered through Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act.

Mr. Dennis distributed a packet of information concerning federal funds distributed to Kansas unified school districts which included the following: (1) a summary of all federal programs administered by the Department of Education covered by NCLB and distributed to school districts, (2) a summary of all other federal programs administered by the Department of Education not covered by NCLB and distributed to school districts, and (3) a report summarizing federal aid distributed by the Department of Education to each unified school district for all federal programs, including NCLB, during FY 2005. (Attachment 3) For the Committee's general information, he distributed copies of a booklet prepared by the Department of Education entitled, "Education Program Review 2005-2006, State, Federal & Privately Funded Programs." The booklet is available at office of the Kansas State board of Education located in the Kansas State Education Building, 120 SE 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas.

Mr. Dennis and Dr. Alexa Posny, Deputy Commissioner, Division of Learning Services, responded to questions from the Committee. Dr. Posny confirmed that the State of Kansas had the authority to waive certain NCLB regulations and that the state had requested and been granted one waiver. As to a question concerning additional costs to the state and school districts resulting from NCLB, Mr. Dennis explained that NCLB and the state's school accreditation standards were tied together by the Board so that there would not be two systems. He noted that the Legislative Post Audit study contained the most recent information on the cost to meet NCLB standards (approximately \$400 million). He commented, "The bottom line, if the standards are the same, the package is about \$400 million. If you eliminate No Child Left Behind and don't change the standards, the price tag is still the same." Senator Vratil commented that individual school districts and superintendents have indicated that NCLB is costing them additional dollars.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 6, 2006.

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Education Committee at 1:35 P.M. on February 1, 2006, in Room 123-S of the Capitol.