Approved: <u>March 6, 2008</u> Date MINUTES OF THE SELECT COMMITTEE ON STATE EMPLOYEE PAY PLAN

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Pat George at 7:00 A.M. on February 20, 2008 in Room 514-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Mike Burgess- excused

Committee staff present:

Alan Conroy, Kansas Legislative Research Department J. G. Scott, Kansas Legislative Research Department Julian Efird, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes Office Cyndie Rexer, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Carol Foreman, Chairman, State Employee Compensation Oversight Commission and Deputy Secretary of the Department of Administration

Others attending:

See attached list.

The minutes of February 5, 2008 were distributed. <u>Representative Tafanelli moved the minutes be approved.</u> <u>Representative Hawk seconded the motion</u>. The minutes were approved.

Alan Conroy, Legislative Research, and Jim Wilson, Revisor, gave the committee a briefing on the content of HB 2916 and a Comparison of FY 2009 State Employee Pay Increases showing the Governor's recommendation and HB 2916. (Attachment 1)

Carol Foreman spoke in support of the bill. The State Employee Compensation Oversight Commission applauds the 5 year funding and the 2.5% pay increase for all in 2009.

A period of questions and answers followed.

The next meeting will Friday, February 22, 2008, 7:30 a.m. in Room 136-N.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 a.m.