Approved: <u>3-26-07</u>

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TOURISM COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Lana Gordon at 3:30 P.M. on March 22, 2007 in Room 519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Owen Donohoe- excused Geraldine Flaharty- excused Broderick Henderson- excused Judy Morrison- excused Robert Olson- excused

Committee staff present:

Kathie Sparks, Kansas Legislative Research Department Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jason Long, Revisor of Statutes Ann Deitcher, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Kent Eckles, Overland Park Chamber of Commerce Dave Corbin, Dept. Of Revenue Mike Reecht, Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce Steve Kelly, Dept. Of Commerce

Others attending:

See attached list.

The Chair called the Committee's attention to the minutes of March 19 and 21 meetings they had been sent.

Representative Swanson made the motion that was seconded by Representative Hill to approve these minutes. The motion passed on a voice vote.

<u>Substitute for SB 334 - making permanent the amount that is currently available in the Investments in Major Projects and Comprehensive Training (IMPACT) fund for major project investments.</u>

Kent Eckles addressed the Committee in support of **Substitute for SB 334**. (Attachment 1).

Dave Corbin testified as a proponent of **Substitute for SB 334**. (Attachment 2).

Offering support of the contents of **Substitute for SB 334** was Mike Reecht. (Attachment 3).

Testimony in favor of **Substitute for SB 334** was provided by Steve Kelly. (Attachment 4).

The hearing was closed on **Substitute for SB 334**.

A motion was made by Representative Huntington and seconded by Representative Hill to work **Substitute for SB 334**. The vote was 11 members in favor.

Representative Huntington made the motion that **Substitute for SB 334** be voted favorably for passage out of Committee. The motion was seconded by Representative Rardin and passed on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 p.m. No other meetings are scheduled at this time.