Approved: <u>1.24.07</u>

Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Clay Aurand at 9:00 A.M. on January 16, 2007 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Benjamin Hodge- absent Representative Steve Huebert- excused

Committee staff present:

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Michele Alishahi, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ashley Holm, Kansas Legislative Research Department Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Dale Dennis, Interim Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education Joshua M. Anderson, Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe Mary N. Collins, Council Grove Elementary School, Council Grove Lorie Atkins Goodson, Wamego Middle School, Wamego Martha Hadsall, Harper Elementary School, Harper Bonnie Kastanek, Woodrow Wilson Elementary School, Manhattan Carrie Mugridge, Prairie Ridge Elementary School, Shawnee DeAnn R. Nelson, Truesdell Middle School, Wichita Sheryl L. Smith, Buhler High School, Buhler

The Chair inquired of the Committee if there were any bill introductions.

Representative Colloton requested a bill regarding the special education teacher service scholarship program be amended to strike the "number of new scholarships awarded each year shall not exceed 50". Representative Colloton then made the motion which was seconded by Representative Spalding.

Representative Otto requested a bill concerning school districts and relating to pupils who are residents of another state. A motion was made by Representative Otto and seconded by Representative Horst.

The Chair introduced Dale Dennis, Interim Commissioner of the Kansas Department of Education. Mr. Dennis introduced the 2007 Kansas Teacher of the Year team. Mr. Dennis also informed the Committee that Joshua Anderson, 2007 Teacher of the Year, was also one out of four finalists for National Teacher of the Year. Each team member then spoke briefly of their teaching experiences and responded to various questions from members of the Committee. (Attachment #1)

The Chair thanked all members of the Teacher of the Year team and congratulated them for the service and dedication to the children of Kansas.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 17, 2007.