Approved:	2.14.07
	Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Clay Aurand at 9:00 A.M. on January 25, 2007 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Barbara Craft- excused

Committee staff present:

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Michele Alishahi, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ashley Holm, Kansas Legislative Research Department Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Larry Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC)

The Chair informed Committee members that committee minutes for January 10, 16, 17, and 23, 2007 had been distributed.

Representative Huebert moved the minutes be approved, seconded by Representative Horst. The motion carried on a voice vote.

The Chair recognized former Senator Lana Oleen, Governor's Designee for the Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC), who in turn introduced Larry Isaak, President, MHEC.

Mr. Isaak advised the Compact's charge is to promote interstate cooperation and resource sharing in postsecondary education. The Compact is governed by the Commission which consists of five appointees from each member state including the governor or the governor's designee, a member of each chamber of the state legislature, and two at-large members, one of whom must come from postsecondary education. The work of the Compact is financed largely through member-state obligations, cost savings initiatives and foundation grants. (Attachments #1, #2, #3)

A brief question and answer session followed.

The Chairman adjourned the meeting at 9:40 A.M. The next meeting will be held January 31, 2007.