Approved: <u>February 8, 2008</u> Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Clay Aurand at 9:05 A.M. on January 25, 2008 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Don Hill- excused Ted Powers- excused

Committee staff present:

Theresa Kiernan, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dianne Rosell, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dale Dennis, Kansas State Department of Education Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Jan Lariviere, UKanTeach Program Coordinator, University of Kansas Dr. Joe Heppert, UKanTeach Co-Director, Chemistry Department Chair, University of Kansas

Representative Pat Colloton introduced Jan Lariviere, UKan Teach Program Coordinator, and Dr. Joe Heppert, UKan Teach Co-Director, to Committee members who then gave an overview of the UKan Teach program. It was stated that 42% of the teachers will leave the field within seven years and 36% of the teachers will be eligible to retire. Mrs. Lariviere stated that during the next school year, according to information from the Kansas State Department of Education, there will be over 400 science and mathematics secondary teaching positions in Kansas with no Kansas-prepared teachers to fill them.

The UKan Teach program is a partnership between University of Kansas College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Kansas School of Education and Kansas school districts. The program is a four year program and modeled from the successful UTeach program from the University of Texas at Austin.

It is planned for the program to double the number of KU math and science licenses each year to approximately 50 per year.

A question and session followed the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for January 30, 2008.