MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Clay Aurand at 9:05 A.M. on January 30, 2008 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Owen Donohoe- excused

Committee staff present:

Theresa Kiernan, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dianne Rosell, Office of Revisor of Statutes Dale Dennis, Kansas State Department of Education Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Danny Ellis, Director and President, The Ellis Foundation Chris Ellis, COO, Ellis Management Company

Representative Shirley Palmer introduced Danny Ellis and his son, Chris Ellis, to Committee members. Representative Palmer told of the family's dedication of providing scholarships to selected children from low to middle income families with an emphasis on single parent families. The scholarship program was started in 1997 in memory of their daughter, Kathy Lyn Ellis Adriance who was a teacher at Blue Valley High School in Johnson County.

Chris Ellis spoke to Committee members and told of the foundation's scholarship program which is in its tenth year and currently supports 545 students with \$8,000 scholarships, giving out over eight consecutive semesters. The scholarship pays up to \$1,000 each semester directly to the student's designated college.

Mr. Ellis told Committee members the foundation's goal is to obtain sufficient funds to maintain over 1000 student scholarships in the program as soon as possible. The foundation is funded by individuals, corporations, and organizations that share their vision to help change young people's lives. (Attachment #1)

A question and answer session followed the presentation.

Scott Frank, Legislative Post Audit, spoke to Committee members and gave an overview of the "K-12 Education: Reviewing Issues Related to Special Education Funding" (On file, Legislative Post Audit)

A question and answer session followed the presentation.

The following students were recognized by the Committee for their participation in the Legislative Shadow Day:

Chelsea Jamison, 8th grade, Ottawa Middle School Abigail Shumway, 8th grade, Ottawa Middle School Heather Whitford, 12th grade, Shawnee Heights High School Gabriella Fordiana, 8th grade, Blue Valley Middle School Regina Marie Budden, 12th grade, St. Marys High School Jamie Cernich, 8th grade, Harmony Middle School Josh Bakarich, 9th grade, Eudora Middle School Delaney Fish, 10th grade, Great Bend High School

Representative Otto moved to introduce a bill which would let school districts who run day care centers to be able to monitor themselves and not have to deal with Kansas Department Health and Environment. The motion was seconded by Representative Spalding. The motion carried.

Representative Crow advised moved to introduce a bill reference Medicaid distribution to school districts. The motion was seconded by Representative Horst. The motion carried.

Representative Colloton moved to introduce a bill that would change the way special education funding is distributed to school districts. The motion was seconded by Representative Spalding. The motion carried.

Chairman Aurand informed the Committee members of a new rule which was to take effect immediately. Chairman Aurand advised if a Committee member is argumentative, confronts another Committee member and offends more than fifty percent of the Committee body, the "three strike" rule will apply. If the incident occurs three times, the Committee member will then be suspended from asking/participating in discussions for a period of two weeks. The policy is retroactive to the beginning of the 2008 Legislative session.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for January 31, 2008.