MINUTES OF THE HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Clay Aurand at 9:05 A.M. on February 20, 2008 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Benjamin Hodge- absent Valdenia Winn- excused

Committee staff present:

Theresa Kiernan, Office of Revisor of Statutes

Dianne Rosell, Office of Revisor of Statutes

Dale Dennis, Kansas State Department of Education

Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Janet Henning, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Representative Mike O'Neal

Scott Young, American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE)

Peg Dunlap, Director of Instructional Advocacy, KNEA

Dr. Ed Hammond, Fort Hays State University

Debbie Mercer, Dean of College of Education, Ft Hays State University

Dr. Bill Neuenswander, Assistant to President, Baker University

Terry Boyd, Leavenworth-Lansing School District, Professional Standards Board Chairman

Phillip Bennett, Associate Dean of the Teachers College, Emporia State University

Dr. Gary George, Olathe School District

Gary Miller, Wichita State University - written testimony

David Brax, Superintendent, Buhler High School

Cheryl Semmel, Executive Director, USAKansas

Mark Tallman, Kansas Association of School Boards

Dr. Terry Sandlin, Interim Superintendent, USD 501

Diane Gjerstad, Wichita Public Schools

HB 2842: Alternative-route licensure for teachers

HB 2874: Nontraditional teacher licensure program

HB 2903: School district teacher licensure program

Theresa Kiernan, Revisor, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, gave an overview of <u>HB 2842</u>, <u>HB 2874</u>, and **HB 2903** to Committee members.

Scott Young, Senior Director of Policy, American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE), spoke to Committee members regarding HB 2842 which would help support current efforts by the state to ensure that all students in Kansas are taught by highly qualified and effective teachers. (Attachments #1 and #2)

Representative Mike O'Neal spoke to Committee members in support of <u>HB 2874</u> which he filed following discussions with public school administrators. (<u>Attachment #3</u>)

David Brax, Superintendent Buhler USD 313 and KASA President, spoke to Committee members in support of **HB 2874.** (Attachment #4)

Cheryl Semmel, Executive Director, USAKansas provided testimony to Committee members in support of <u>HB 2874</u> and <u>HB 2903</u> relating to teacher licensure. (Attachment #5)

Mark Tallman, Assistant Executive director/Advocacy, Kansas Association of School Boards, testified before Committee members in support of <u>HB 2874</u> and <u>HB 2903.</u> (<u>Attachment #6</u>)

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE House Education Committee at 9:05 A.M. on February 20, 2008 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

Terry Sandlin, Interim Superintendent, USD 501, spoke to Committee members in support of <u>HB 2874</u> and <u>HB 2903</u> and told of having to obtain teachers from outside of the United States.

Diane Gjerstad, Wichita Public Schools, spoke to Committee members in support of HB 2903. Ms. Gjerstad further testified that Wichita school district officials had approached several universities to find a partner for an "urban principals" program but was unable to find an existing program that fit their needs. As a result, Wichita district staff developed a curriculum (which has been approved by Wichita State University and meets NCATE standards) and the Wichita public schools staff delivers the curriculum. (Attachment #7)

Peg Dunlap, Director of Instructional Advocacy, Kansas National Education Association, spoke to Committee members in opposition of **HB 2842, HB 2874** and **HB 2903.** (Attachment #8,and #9)

Dr. Ed Hammond, President, Fort Hays State University, spoke to Committee members in opposition of **HB 2842**, **HB 2874**, and **HB 2903**. (Attachment #10)

Debbie Mercer, Fort Hays State University, spoke to Committee members on behalf of deans of education at the six Regent's schools and Washburn University in opposition of <u>HB 2842</u>, <u>HB 2874</u> and <u>HB 2903</u>. (Attachment #11)

Dr. Bill Neuenswander, Assistant to the President, Baker University, spoke to Committee members of concerns for **HB 2842**, **HB 2874**, and **HB 2903**. (Attachment #12)

Dr. Phil Bennett, Associate Dean, The Teachers College, Emporia State University, spoke to Committee members in opposition of <u>HB 2842</u>, <u>HB 2874</u>, and <u>HB 2903</u>. Dr. Bennett urged Committee members to put funds into teacher retention, not into licensing poorly prepared teachers. (<u>Attachment #13</u>)

Dr. Gary George, Olathe School District, spoke to Committee members in opposition of <u>HB 2842</u> and <u>HB 2874</u>. (Attachment #14 and #15)

Terry Boyd, a National Board Certified Teacher and current chair of the Kansas Teaching and School Administration Professional Standards Advisory Board, spoke to Committee members on behalf of the Advisory Board who are opposed to **HB 2842**, **HB 2874**, and **HB 2903**. (Attachment #16)

Written testimony was received from Dr. Gary Miller, Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research, Wichita State University who expressed concerns relating to the various alternative teacher certification bills, **HB 2842**, **HB 2874**, and **HB 2903**. (Attachment #17)

Written testimony was received from Reginald Robinson, President and CEO, Kansas Board of Regents who shared concerned for <u>HB 2842</u>, <u>HB 2874</u>, and <u>HB 2903</u>. (Attachment #18)

A question and answer session followed the presentations.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 A.M. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 21, 2008.