MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE COORDINATING COUNCIL

May 22, 2007

Members participating:

President Steve Morris, Chairperson Speaker Melvin Neufeld, Vice-Chairperson Senator Derek Schmidt, Majority Leader Senator Anthony Hensley, Minority Leader Representative Ray Merrick, Majority Leader Representative Don Dahl, Speaker Pro Tem Representative Dennis McKinney, Minority Leader

The meeting was called to order by President Morris at 1:14 p.m. in Room 123-S, State Capitol.

REPORT OF SUBCOMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATION

Speaker Neufeld presented the report of the Subcommittee on Administration. The subcommittee recommends that, on June 17, 2007: (1) Moneys budgeted for the payment of operating expenditures in legislative leadership offices be increased for fiscal year 2008 by amounts which are hereby authorized be allocated for such offices by the Director of Legislative Administrative Services from the amounts provided in 2007 House Bill No. 2368 and 2007 House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 357 for such offices, in accordance with the provisions and intent of such bills, to provide for operating expenditures including increases in the salaries and compensation of staff in such offices, which may also include in the discretion of the appointing authority any bonus payments, within the limitations of moneys available for such purposes; (2) the Director of Legislative Administrative Services, the Director of Legislative Research and the Revisor of Statutes be authorized to fix compensation and salaries for personnel within their respective offices (for whom they are authorized to fix salaries and compensation), within the limitations of moneys available for such purposes, including the payment of longevity compensation and the additional amount of longevity bonus payment, and, in the discretion of the appointing authority, any bonus payments on December 14, 2007, for personnel in amounts equal to and subject to the same eligibility requirements as that authorized and prescribed by law for personnel in the classified service; (3) the biweekly salaries of the Director of Legislative Administrative Services, Director of Legislative Research, Legislative Post Auditor and Revisor of Statutes be increased by an amount equal to 2% of the biweekly rate of pay in effect immediately prior to such date as authorized for such persons by the Legislative Coordinating Council (if moneys are available in the particular agency budget therefor),

together with the bonus payment on December 14, 2007, the payment of longevity compensation, and the additional amount of longevity bonus payment, for eligible personnel in amounts equal to and subject to the same eligibility requirements as that authorized and prescribed by law for personnel in the classified service; and (4) the biweekly salaries of full-time legislative employees not otherwise covered by this memo or under the Kansas public employees retirement system shall be increased by 3% of the biweekly rate of pay in effect for such employees for the preceding biweekly payroll period (1% of this increase in lieu of longevity), and any such employee may receive additional salary and compensation as may be authorized by the appointing authority for such employee, within the limitations of moneys available for such purposes.

The subcommittee recommends that: (1) A subcommittee composed of the chairperson, vice-chairperson and ranking minority member of the Joint Committee on Pensions, Investments and Benefits prepare and approve a request for proposal for the KPERS actuarial audit and evaluation required pursuant to K.S.A. 74-4908a, review the proposals received and recommend to the Legislative Coordinating Council to whom the contract should be awarded; (2) delegation to Oversight Employee Compensation Commission responsibility to negotiate a contract with the Hay Group for Phase III (Fringe Benefits) of the Hay State Employee Compensation Study be approved; (3) the Legislature's subscription to VoteTracker be renewed for the 2008 fiscal year; (4) the following legislators be appointed to the Legislative Educational Planning Committee: Senators Schordorf, chair, Francisco, Pine, Taddiken. Teichman and Vratil and Representatives Aurand, vice-chair, Horst, Huebert, Pottorff, Ballard, Phelps and Winn; (5) the following legislators be appointed to the Legislative Budget Committee: Representatives Schwartz, chair, Tafanelli, Dahl and Feuerborn and Senators following Umbarger, vice-chair, Kelly and Morris; (6) the legislators be appointed to the Midwestern Higher Education Commission: Delegates, Senator Schodorf and Representative Ballard, and Alternates, Senator Francisco and Representative Aurand; (5) and the following committee meeting days be approved: Two days in June for the Joint Committee on Information Technology, four days for the Joint Committee on Health Policy Oversight and three days for the 2010 Commission (May 31 - June 1 in Topeka and June 14 in Wichita).

The subcommittee recommends creation of a Special Committee on Kiowa County Disaster Relief and Recovery and that the Special Committee: (1) Be charged with studying the disaster that hit Kiowa County and surrounding areas on May 4 and 5, 2007; monitoring the activities of state agencies in their assistance efforts to the citizens of Kiowa County and surrounding areas to ensure that all available state resources are being efficiently and effectively utilized; examining opportunities to streamline state assistance that would include minimizing any unnecessary paper work requirements given the magnitude of the disaster; and making appropriate recommendations to the State Finance Council and the

2008 Legislature that would aid in the recovery and rebuilding of Kiowa County and surrounding areas; (2) be composed of nine members, four members from the Senate (three members appointed by the President of the Senate and one member appointed by the Senate Minority Leader) and five members from the House (three members appointed by the Speaker and two members appointed by the House Minority Leader), with the Chair from the House and the Vice-Chair from the Senate; and (3) be authorized 12 meetings days and be authorized to travel to Kiowa County and the surrounding areas to survey the damage and the reconstruction.

The subcommittee recommends approval of: (1) Attendance at the annual meeting of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws by the Kansas representatives to the National Conference; (2) attendance at the Kansas Geological Survey Field Conference, June 6-8, 2007, by invited legislators, who will receive en route day, mileage from the point of departure and salary on all days of the tour; (3) travel by Senator Reitz and Representative Hawk to the Governor's Council on Military Affairs, Washington D.C., June 18-20, 2007; and (4) travel by the chair and ranking minority member of the House and Senate Standing Committees on Federal and State Affairs to the National Council of Legislators from Gaming States.

Representative Neufeld moved that the report of the Subcommittee on Administration be approved. Senator Hensley seconded the motion and the motion carried.

OTHER MATTERS

The Council received an informational report from Mr. Russell regarding postage allowance increases due to increases in postage rates.

The next Legislative Coordinating Council meeting dates were established as July 6, August 13 and September 17.

On motion the meeting was adjourned.

Prepared by

Mary Ann Torrence Revisor of Statutes, as Secretary

Approved by