MINUTES

MATH AND SCIENCE EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

January 9, 2008 Room 123-S—Statehouse

Members Present

Senator Nick Jordan, Chairperson Senator Laura Kelly Senator Ruth Teichman Representative Shirley Palmer Representative Sheryl Spalding Representative Kenny Wilk Dan Jacobsen Richard Taylor Kenneth Clouse Dr. Edward Hammond Dr. Michael Lane Paul Weida

Members Absent

Janis Lariviere Mitch Counce

Staff Present

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Matt Todd, Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Senator Jordan opened the meeting at 10:00 a.m. Matt Todd from the Revisor of Statutes Office briefed the Committee with examples of committees concerning education and how they were established by the Legislature (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

Sharon Wenger from the Legislative Research Department presented information on Indiana's Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math program entitled I-STEM (<u>Attachment 2</u>).

Discussion then took place regarding final Committee recommendations. By consensus, the Committee requested the Revisor's staff draft legislation creating a Math, Engineering, Technology, and Science (METS) Education Innovation Council patterned after the 2010 Commission. The

The final report will be drafted by staff and electronically reviewed by Committee members for dissemination to all legislators and other interested parties.

Prepared by Sharon Wenger

Approved by Committee on:

<u>February 12, 2008</u> (Date)

47043~(2/12/8{4:04PM})