MINUTES

2010 COMMISSION

January 26, 2007 Room 527-S—Statehouse

Members Present

Rochelle Chronister, Chairperson
Dr. Ray Daniels, Vice-Chairperson
Representative Clay Aurand
Representative Sue Storm
Carolyn Campbell
Dennis Jones
Stephen Iliff
Barbara Hinton, Legislative Post Auditor

Members Absent

Senator Jean Schodorf Barbara Mackey Attorney General Designee (this designee will begin work on February 1, 2007)

Staff Present

Ashley Holm, Legislative Fellow, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Others Present

Dale Dennis, Interim Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education Scott Frank, Audit Manager, Legislative Division of Post Audit

At 10:00 a.m., the 2010 Commission meeting was called to order by Chairperson Rochelle Chronister.

Representative Storm presented a brief update on the status in the current legislative session of 2010 Commission recommendations.

Chairperson Chronister updated the Commission regarding her presentations of the 2007 Commission Report to the Senate Ways and Means and House Appropriations Committees.

Scott Frank, Audit Manager, Legislative Division of Post Audit, provided an audit status report (Attachment 1).

Staff presented brief updates on other legislative activities related to the 2007 Commission recommendations.

School Transportation Issues

The Chairperson opened the hearing regarding school transportation issues.

Dr. David M. Self, Superintendent of USD 210 – Hugoton, presented testimony (<u>Attachment 2</u>). Dr. Self made three recommendations:

- Reduce the distance factor of 2.5 miles to one mile from the student's place of residence to the attendance center in the school finance transportation weighting formula.
- Reduce the distance factor to one mile in the transportation reimbursement formula.
- Recommendations regarding limiting the amount of time students ride school buses should remain a recommendation and not become a state regulation.

Dr. Marty Stessman, Superintendent of USD 450 – Shawnee Heights, presented testimony (<u>Attachment 3</u>). Dr. Stessman supported lowering the reimbursement threshold for school transportation funding below 2.5 miles. He reported that his school district currently transports 871 students who live within 2.5 miles of the district's schools. He told the Commission that the Shawnee Heights Board continues to provide this service for the safety and well being of its students.

Written testimony was provided by representatives of USD 500 – Kansas City, Kansas; Schools for Quality Education; and USD 345 – Seaman. All three representatives advocated changing the reimbursement to less than the 2.5 mile limit. Kansas City, Kansas, School District wrote that it transports 5,867 students who live within 2.5 miles of an attendance center (<u>Attachment</u> 4).

Chairperson Chronister closed the hearing on this issue.

Dale Dennis, Interim Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education, discussed 2006-07 school budgets. He presented several handouts describing statewide expenditures as well as providing examples of individual school districts budget information which can be accessed on the Kansas State Board of Education (KSBE) web site (<u>Attachment 5</u>).

Mr. Dennis also discussed various achievement awards presented by KSBE (Attachment 6).

Sharon Wenger, KLRD, provided an overview of the Legislative Educational Planning Committee Report.

Scott Frank discussed Legislative Post Audit's findings regarding the school transportation formula (<u>Attachment 7</u>).

Commission Member Dennis Jones presented a summary of the Kansas Workforce Summit he recently attended. He recommended the 2010 Commission invite a presenter from that Summit to speak to the Commission regarding the future of Kansas education. He will work with staff on this.

Tentative future meeting dates were discussed. If performance audits are ready for presentation or special speakers can be arranged, a meeting will be held on February 26 or 27. A tentative April meeting will be set to visit Colby, Junction City, and Salina school districts.

Chairperson Chronister adjourned the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

Prepared by Sharon Wenger

	r repared by Sharon Wenger
Approved by Commission on:	
April 6, 2007 (Date)	