Approved: February 20, 2007

Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jean Schodorf at 1:35 p.m. on February 12, 2007, in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

Committee members absent: Ralph Ostmeyer- excused

Committee staff present: Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Ashley Holm, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Shirley Higgins, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: None

Senator Schodorf announced that Dr. Mary Cohen, U.S. Department of Education, who was scheduled to present information on No Child Left Behind, was not present for an unknown reason.

Discussion and action on previously heard bill: **SB 138 – Autism Task Force**

Senator Schodorf called attention to a handout prepared by Don Jordan, Secretary, Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services. Secretary Jordan requested that the section addressing the task force membership be amended to include the following members: (1) SRS, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, and the Department of Education as ex-officio members, (2) both an occupational therapist and a speech language pathologist rather than one or the other, and (3) a parent of a child with an Autism Spectrum Disorder. (Attachment 1) She also called attention to a handout prepared by John J. Federico on behalf of Capper Foundation Easter Seals, which requested that the bill be amended to provide for the appointment to the task force of one parent of an autistic child and a representative of the Capper Foundation Easter Seals as a provider of autistic services. (Attachment 2)

Committee discussion followed regarding task force membership. The bill provided for 13 members. Senator Schodorf commented that, since the hearing on the bill, suggestions for 34 new members had been made. It was the consensus of the Committee that the task force should be composed of a maximum of 15 members.

Senator Teichman moved to amend **SB 138** by adding to the task force membership a representative from the insurance industry and a representative from Capper Foundation Easter Seals, seconded by Senator Lee. The motion carried.

Senator Teichman moved to amend her motion to add that the representative from the insurance industry be appointed by the Commissioner of Insurance and that the Capper Foundation Easter Seals appoint its own member, seconded by Senator Pine. The motion carried.

Senator Schodorf moved to amend **SB 138** on page 3, lines 5 and 6, by striking "for early intensive behavioral therapy" and inserting "for early intervention", seconded by Senator Lee. The motion carried.

Senator Vratil moved to amend **SB 138** on page 2, lines 4 through 6, regarding the quorum for a task force meeting, by deleting "six" on line 5 in two places and inserting "seven" and by making the same change anywhere else in the bill where needed, seconded by Senator Pine. The motion carried.

Senator Apple moved to technically amend **SB 138** on page 3,line 14, to correct an unintentional revisor's error, "PDD??? and PDD-NOS", by deleting the question marks and by spelling out the abbreviations, seconded by Senator Vratil. The motion carried.

Senator Vratil moved to amend **SB 138** regarding compensation of task force members on page 2, lines 17 through 21, by inserting at the end of line 21, "unless the member is being otherwise compensated by the member's employer", seconded by Senator Teichman. The motion carried.

CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Education Committee at 1:35 p.m. on February 12, 2007, in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

Senator Pine moved to recommend **SB 138** favorably for passage as amended, seconded by Senator Goodwin. The motion carried.

Discussion on bill previously heard: <u>SB 93 – School finance</u>; <u>high density at-risk pupil weighting</u>; <u>linear</u> transition calculation

Theresa Kiernan, Revisor of Statutes Office, distributed a balloon of the bill showing corrections discussed at the hearing on the bill. (Attachment 3)

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department, distributed copies of a memorandum prepared by Dale Dennis, Interim Commissioner of Education, with an attached computer printout implementing the linear transition in **SB 93**. (Attachment 4) Ms. Wenger explained that the data related to the deletion of the provisions in the bill applicable to the Turner, Hutchinson, and Leavenworth school districts. She then distributed copies of a memorandum prepared by Mr. Dennis with an attached computer printout which related to the high-density at-risk being amended to provide a linear transition from 35 up to 50 percent for all school districts and which also continued a provision applicable to the Turner, Hutchinson, and Leavenworth districts related to high density. (Attachment 5) Ms. Wenger explained the data would leave the law as it was now, leave the three districts in, and would be a linear transition. Committee discussion followed at which time it was determined that a factor adjustment was needed to make the bill revenue neutral for Turner, Hutchinson, and Leavenworth and that the Committee should request that Mr. Dennis prepare another computer printout using the adjustment.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:20 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 13, 2007.