Approved: <u>3/22/07</u>

Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE ELECTIONS AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tim Huelskamp at 1:30 P.M. on February 7, 2007 in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

All members except Senator Donovan were present.

Committee staff present:

Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Matt Spurgin, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ken Wilke, Revisor of Statutes Zoie Kern, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Brad Bryant - Sectretary of States office

Others attending: See attached list.

Ken Wilke gave summary of <u>SB 159 Elections; security of advance voting ballots (Attachment 1).</u> Brad Bryant of Secretary of States office testified in favor of <u>SB 159</u> and submitted language change (<u>Attachment 2).</u>

Questions.

References given to **<u>SB142</u>** from last year and companion for **<u>SB 159, SB133.</u>**

Written testimony submitted by Topeka Independent Resource Center (Attachment 3).

Hearing closed.

Motion made by Senator Francisco and second by Senator Lynn to accept language from Secretary of States office to amendment to **SB 159**.

Motion carried.

<u>Senator Francisco motioned to change language from member of voters family to - person other than voter.</u> <u>Motion carried.</u>

Senator Petersen motion and Senator Pyle second to accept proposed balloon amendment by Secretary of State.

Motion carried.

Discussion on **<u>SB 169 Concerning elections; photo identification</u>**.

Motion made by Senator Huelskamp and second by Senator Petersen to accept changes (Attachment4). Discussion.

Motion carried.

Motion made by Senator Huelskamp and second by Senator Wilson to accept amendment to SB 169 requiring proof of citizenship at time of registration.

Senator Francisco motioned to strike on page 9 of SB 169, lines e, i & j and everywhere else this is mentioned.

Motion second by Senator Reitz.

Motion carried to report out SB 169 favorably.

Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Zoie C. Kern, Committee Secretary