Approved: February 3. 2009

Date

## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE LOCAL GOVERNMENT

The first meeting of the House Local Government Committee was called to order by Sharon Schwartz, Chair, at 3:35 p.m. on January 15, 2009 in Room 446-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except:.

Rep. Steve Heubert - excused Rep. Bill Otto - excused Rep. Michael Peterson - excused

Committee staff present:

Martha Dorsey, Legislative Research Department Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ken Wilke, Revisor of Statues Carol Bertram, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Kimberly Winn, Director of Policy Development & Communications, League of Kansas MunicipalitiesJoan Wagnon, Secretary of Revenue, Department of Revenue

Others attending:

See attached list.

This being the first meeting of the Committee, Chair Schwartz welcomed the committee members and asked that the Representatives and the staff introduce themselves. Chair Schwartz introduced the Committee Assistant.

Kimberly Winn, Director of Policy Development and Communications, League of Kansas Municipalities reviewed the LKM legislative agenda and presented general information in regard to the League. She emphasized that the philosophy of LKM is to work with the people of Kansas at all levels of government. For the committee's information, Director Winn distributed a portfolio which included:

- 2009 Statement of Municipal Policy
- Local Government in Kansas, a publication which includes a computerd disk.
- Kansas Government Journal, a LKM publication
- A form to be completed and returned to LKM if the representative would like to receive the electronic publication, League News

She noted the Home Rule of LKM states that they support the constitutional home rule authority of Kansas cities. Self-governance by locally elected officials must be preserved in order to ensure that local issues and problems are handled at the level of government closest to the citizens that they represent. Copies of all the above-mentioned items can be obtained from LKM at 300 SW 8<sup>th</sup>, Topeka, KS 66603

Chair Schwartz allowed time for questions and answers.

In her excitement, Chair Schwartz took a moment of personal privilege to announced that as of noon today she is a very proud great grandmother.

Joan Wagnon, Secretary of Revenue, Department of Revenue, pointed out that she comes before the Committee as a appointee of the Governor to the Kansas Advisory Council on Intergovernmental Relations. The 2008 Annual Report of KACIR was distributed to the committee (<u>Attachment 1</u>). Secretary Wagnon reviewed the KACIR Policy Recommendations which are:

- In 2009, KACIR should request introduction in the Senate of legislation to remove remaining barriers to consolidation, particularly city-county consolidation and provide incentives to consolidate. The decision to require a dual majority should be left to the consolidation commission.
- Continue statewide discussion of effects of tax base erosion on local state governments. The KACIR

## CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE House Local Government at 3:30 p.m. on January 15, 2009, in Room 446-N of the Capitol.

should construct a policy evaluation guide for the legislature to use in considering all requests for sales and property tax exemptions or tax credits, which would narrow the tax bases.

• KACIR should examine how local governments are funded and recommend any changes in tax sources to the 2010 legislature.

She noted the legislature should set the framework to protect the interests of all the people who might live in various places but allow those decisions to be made at the local level. A bill is being drafted and will be introduced into the Senate.

Chair Schwartz allowed time for questions and answers.

Chair Schwartz opened the floor for any bill introductions. <u>Representative Mah moved to introduce a bill</u> concerning unilateral annexation, seconded by Rep. Gordon. The motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

The next meeting of the committee is scheduled for January 20, 2009.

Representative Sharon Schwartz, Chair