## MINUTES OF THE HOUSE LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Sharon Schwartz at 3:30 p.m. on January 20, 2009, in Room 446-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Delia Garcia- excused

## Committee staff present:

Carol Bertram, Committee Assistant Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department Ken Wilke, Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Randall Allen, Executive Director, Kansas Association of Counties Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Others attending:

See attached list

Since the committee room isn't equipped with microphones, Chair Schwartz reminded committee members to be sure to speak up so an accurate record of the proceedings can be written. She asked the visitors to be sure to sign the guest list provided for them.

Chair Schwartz asked committee members to review the House Local Government Committee Rules which had been placed in their committee folders (<u>Attachment 1</u>). She emphasized that cellular phones and other electronic devices with audible tones are prohibited in the committee room. Also text messaging is not allowed as text messaging comes close to an open meeting violation.

Randy Allen, Executive Director, Kansas Association of Counties, introduced Melissa Wangemann, General Counsel and Director of Legislative Affairs. He distributed copies of a pamphlet which lists the legislative priorities of the KAC for 2009. The pamphlet can be found in the offices of the Kansas Association of Counties. He stated that KAC provides legislative representation, education and technical services, and a wide range of other information services to its member counties and affiliate and associate members. Executive Director Allen went on to inform the committee as to who serves on the KAC 2009 Governing Board, the KAC 2008 Legislative Policy Committee, KAC Legislative Staff and the KAC membership–Affiliate Membership and the KAC Associate Membership.

Executive Director Allen stated KAC plans to work for enactment of the following priority objectives during the upcoming session and believes these policies will help better county government for the citizens of Kansas.

These policies are: Federal Legislative Priority

Medicaid Reform State Legislative Priorities

Low Birth Weight Infants

Countywide Local Sales Tax Authority

Suspension of Medicaid Eligibility for Jail Inmates

Continuation of E900 Tax

Multi-Year State Comprehensive Transportation Program (CTP)

Chair Schwartz opened the floor to questions.

Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department, presented a final report of the Special Committee on Eminent Domain in Condemnation of Water Rights dealing with annexation. She distributed three documents:

• Report of the Special Committee on Eminent Domain in Condemnation of Water Rights to the 2009 Kansas Legislature (<u>Attachment 2</u>)

## **CONTINUATION SHEET**

Minutes of the House Local Government Committee at 3:30 p.m. on January 23, 2009, in Room 446-N of the Capitol.

- The "Working Draft" of the Special Committee stating the Committee's requests and future topics on annexation (Attachment 3)
- An Outline of Various Annexation Statutes (<u>Attachment 4</u>)

Martha guided the committee through each of the above-mentioned documents, explaining each section of the report. She noted that the Special Committee recommends a number of bills, as well as recommending that it continue to review Kansas annexation laws during the year 2009 to study the public safeguards and the needs of municipalities.

Questions on annexation followed.

Chair Schwartz opened the floor for any bill introductions. <u>Representative Goico moved that the committee introduce a bill which would eliminate the 500 feet restriction on historic buildings, seconded by Rep. Otto.</u> The motion carried.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 27, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:17p.m.

Representative Sharon Schwartz, Chair