MINUTES OF THE HOUSE AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Larry Powell at 3:30 p.m. on March 18, 2009, in Room 783 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except – Representatives Hineman, Light and Svaty.

Committee staff present:

Mike Corrigan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Pat Matzek, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Mike Brown, Chairman, Wheat Commission
Pat Ross, Secretary Treasurer, Corn Commission
Ron Ohlde, Chairman, Soybean Commission
Jeff Casten, Chairman, Grain Sorghum Commission
Erik Wisner, Policy and Program Analyst, Department of the Agriculture

Others attending:

See attached list.

Chairman Powell commenced the meeting with introduction of Intern Jarah Casten.

Mike Brown, Chairman, Wheat Commission, (<u>Attachment 1</u>) stated the Kansas Wheat Commission was established by the Kansas legislature in 1957 to represent the states' wheat producers in the areas of research, domestic marketing, international marketing, education and communication. One of the Wheat Commission's key projects over the past year is the application for a \$35 million startup grant from the Kansas BioScience Authority for the Plant Innovation Center. Mr. Brown also distributed a copy of the Kansas Wheat Commission's annual report and audit information on file at its office or accessible at www.KansasWheat.org.

Pat Ross, Secretary Treasurer, Corn Commission, (<u>Attachment 2</u>) spoke on behalf of the Kansas Corn Commission, advising that while its 2008 corn production was down slightly from its record-breaking crop of 2007, Kansas growers produced the second largest crop in the state's history harvesting 486 million bushels. Mr. Ross further commented the Kansas Corn Commission works to increase the profitability of growing corn by funding programs it believes will build demand for corn and for products made with corn. Copies of the Kansas Corn Commission's annual report and audit information are available online at www.ksgrains.com.

Ron Ohlde, Chairman, Soybean Commission, (<u>Attachment 3</u>) documented the Soybean Commission is part of a federal checkoff program and has been designated as the Qualified State Soybean Board for the state of Kansas by the United States Soybean Board, the national checkoff board authorized by the United States Department of Agriculture under federal legislation approved by Congress. Mr. Ohlde also reported the number one funding priority of the Soybean Commission is research, primarily production research. They look at breeding, production, and environmental programs that focus on the most economical and efficient cropping systems with minimal impact on the environment, including best management practices, crop protection and pest management. Copies of the Kansas Soybean Commission's annual report and audit information are available online at www.kansassoybeans.org.

Jeff Casten, Chairman, Grain Sorghum Commission, (<u>Attachment 4</u>) presented documentation on the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, stating the thirteen person board of the new United Sorghum checkoff Program (USCP) includes three members of the Kansas grain Sorghum Commission, of which Mr. Casten is a member. The USCP is a new producer self-help organization that will energize the sorghum industry and provide new research, promotion and information opportunities for the crop. The Board will efficiently invest sorghum producers' checkoff dollars to increase sorghum profitability and bolster an industry that has lagged in research efforts during the past 20 years. Copies of the Kansas Soybean Commission's annual report and audit information are available online at www.ksgrainsorghum.org.

Hearing on:

CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee at 3:30 p.m. on March 18, 2009, in Room 783 of the Docking State Office Building.

SB 204 - Secretary of agriculture, disposition of food safety and lodging moneys, food safety and lodging fee fund.

Erik Wisner, Policy and Program Analyst, Department of Agriculture, (<u>Attachment 5</u>) presented testimony in favor of <u>SB 204</u>, stating the bill makes several changes to the disposition of fees in the Division of Food Safety and Lodging. Mr. Wisner documented there are two statutes and a budget proviso that reference the disposition of fees paid by food service establishments. The proposed amendments would eliminate the proviso and one of the statutes and place all fees collected from food service and lodging establishments into one fund, direct all lodging fees to be credited to the program's fee fund, and directs all penalty money received by the program to be deposited in the state general fund.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 19, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.