Approved: <u>March 24, 2009</u>

Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ENERGY AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Carl Holmes at 9:00 a.m. on March 2, 2009, in Room 783 of the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Melissa Doeblin, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Sean Ostrow, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Mary Torrence, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Cindy Lash, Kansas Legislative Research Department Renae Hansen, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee: Joe Harkins, Kansas Corporation Commission

Others attending:

Twenty-nine including the attached list.

Representative Annie Kuether moved to introduce a resolution for KETA. Seconded by Representative Forrest Knox. Motion carried.

It was noted 12 members and staff will attend the solar roundtable tomorrow (Attachment 1)

On Friday the committee will car pool to Lawrence, for a tour of the Lawrence Energy Center, and Bowersock hydro-electric plant.

Discussion of Federal stimulus package funding for energy efficiency.

Joe Harkins, KCC, (<u>Attachment 2</u>), gave a presentation that outlined the process that will be taken to distribute the economic stimulus energy efficiency funds. He noted the goals and strategies that are based on and consistent with (1) policy guidance contained in KCC dockets 441 and 442, (2) the existing State Facility Conservation Improvement Program (FCIP), and (3) the Governor's policy directives. The strategies include: (1) Expand existing and develop additional comprehensive programs to increase energy conservation and efficiency in buildings for all classes of utility customers, (2) Encourage development of dynamic pricing, a critical component of an effective statewide energy efficiency initiative, which gives energy consumers clear price signals that allow them to make better-informed choices about energy consumption and end-use devices.

Questions were asked and comments made by Representatives: Carl Holmes, Vern Swanson, Don Myers, Rob Olson, Tom Moxley, Tom Sloan, and Forrest Knox.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 3, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:25 a.m.