MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE EDUCATIONAL PLANNING COMMITTEE

November 24, 2010
Room 68-W—Statehouse
Conference Call

Members Present

Representative Deena Horst, Chairperson Senator Jean Kurtis Schodorf, Vice-chairperson Senator Marci Francisco Senator Ruth Teichman Representative Barbara Ballard Representative Owen Donohoe Representative Steve Huebert Representative Eber Phelps

Staff Present

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department

Others Present

Carol Benoit, Chief of Staff for Senator Vratil
Dr. Gary George, Assistant Superintendent, Olathe USD
Tom Krebs, Kansas Association of School Boards

Chairperson Horst introduced the topic for discussion: determining whether Committee members wanted to include a recommendation in its final report related to dyslexic students.

Chairperson Horst reviewed the House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 5015 related to this topic (Attachment 1), as well as the testimony presented by Dr. Terry Sader of the Kansas Coalition for Dyslexia Legislation from the September 2, 2010, meeting. In meeting the requirements of HCR 5015, the Kansas Department of Education's report of activities related to educating dyslexic students briefly was discussed.

It was moved by Senator Teichman and seconded by Representative Ballard that the following recommendation be added to the final report of the Legislative Educational Planning Committee (LEPC) to the 2011 Legislature:

Regarding the teaching of students with dyslexia, the Committee recommended the education committees of the Kansas House and Senate continue to monitor the work of the State Board of Education on behalf of dyslexic students. The Committee specifically mentioned two areas the education committees should review: the progress of the State Board of Education in implementing the multi-tier system of support in Kansas school districts; and review of teacher preparation courses to ensure that knowledge of best practices of instruction, including scientifically-based reading instruction used to instruct children with dyslexia, is addressed.

A roll call vote was taken via the conference call with all eight members voting aye.

The conference call was adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Prepared and Edited by Sharon Wenger

Approved by the Committee on:

December 10, 2010
(Date)