Approved: January 29, 2009

Date

## MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jean Schodorf at 1:30 p.m. on January 20, 2009, in Room 545-N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Reagan Cussimanio, Kansas Legislative Research Department Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Theresa Kiernan, Kansas Legislative Revisor Matt Sterling, Kansas Legislative Revisor Dorothy Gerhardt, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education Cynthia J. Couchman, Buhler High School, Buhler Mary F. Bradshaw, Chisholm Middle School, Newton Walter L. Cochran, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Marilyn B. Fox, Susan B. Anthony Middle School, Manhattan Mary Martha Good, Skelly Elementary School, El Dorado Jennifer Hartman, Clear Creek Elementary School, Shawnee Julie C. Miller, Cottonwood Elementary School, Paola Cynthia L. Venard, Soule Intermediate Center, Dodge City Andy Solter, President, Kansas Career Pipeline Dr. Steve Wyckoff, Education Consultant

Others attending: See attached list.

Chairperson Jean Schodorf began the meeting by announcing that beginning next week the meeting location for the Senate Education Committee would be moved to 446-N on Wednesday and Thursday.

## Kansas Teacher of the Year Program

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education, introduced each of the teachers recognized as 2009 Teachers of the Year in the Kansas Teacher of the Year Program sponsored by the Kansas Department of Education. (Attachment 1)

Cynthia J. Couchman, Buhler High School, Buhler Mary F. Bradshaw, Chisholm Middle School, Newton Walter L. Cochran, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Marilyn B. Fox, Susan B. Anthony Middle School, Manhattan Mary Martha Good, Skelly Elementary School, El Dorado Jennifer Hartman, Clear Creek Elementary School, El Dorado Julie C. Miller, Cottonwood Elementary School, Paola Cynthia L. Venard, Soule Intermediate Center, Dodge City Andy Solter, President, Kansas Career Pipeline Dr. Steve Wyckoff, Education Consultant

Each of the recognized teachers gave a short presentation regarding their experience and challenges in the field of education.

## **Kansas Career Pipeline**

Andy Solter, President, Kansas Career Pipeline, and Dr. Steve Wycoff, Education Consultant, gave a short presentation regarding the internet-based career development tool available to individual students, adults, and educational systems which allows participants to prepare for Kansas career success and allows business to

## CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Education Committee at 1:30 p.m. on January 20, 2009, in Room 545-N of the Capitol.

make direct connections with future employees. (Attachment 2)

The next meeting is scheduled for January 21, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.