Approved: January 29, 2009

Date

## MINUTES OF THE JOINT SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE and HOUSE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jean Schodorf at 1:30 p.m. on January 21, 2009, in Room 545-N of the Capitol.

All Senate members were present except:

Senator Chris Steineger- absent Senator John Vratil- excused

House members present:

Terri Huntington, Chair Marc Rhoades, Vice-Chair

Deena Horst

Joe McLeland

Tom Moxley

William Prescott

Dale Swenson

Ann Mah

Tony Brown

Shirley Palmer

Valdenia Winn

## Committee staff present:

Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Theresa Kiernan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Matt Sterling, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Dorothy Gerhardt, Administrative Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Larry A. Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact

## **Midwestern Higher Education Compact**

Larry A. Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact, appeared before the members with a presentation explaining MHEC. The Compact was created by the Council of State Governments' Midwest Legislative Conference in 1991. The 12 eligible Midwestern states defined by the Compact passed legislation to become members. MHEC services are available to all 1,057 Midwest institutions of public and private non-profit higher education. Services include competitive pricing opportunities for technology hardware, software, property insurance, and grants for energy and health care savings. Member state commitments, foundation grants, and program income finance MHEC activities.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 22, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.