Approved:	March 23, 2010
	Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jean Schodorf at 1:30 p.m. on March 17, 2010, in Room 152-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Theresa Kiernan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Martha Dorsey, Kansas Legislative Research Department Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Dorothy Gerhardt, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas State Department of Education

Others attending:

See attached list.

Approval of Minutes

Senator Ruth Teichman moved to approve the minutes of March 11, March 15, and March 16, 2010 as written. The motion was seconded by Senator Abrams. Motion carried on a voice vote.

HB 2595 - School districts; of students residing outside the district

Senator Schodorf announced that <u>HB 2595</u> had been referred back to the committee. She then asked Theresa Kiernan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, to provide a brief summary of the bill. This would authorize school districts to transport any non-resident pupil enrolled in and attending school in the district under K.S.A. 72-1046b. The pupil would be required to reside at least 10 miles from the attendance center that the pupil would have attended in the district where the pupil resides. The bill would eliminate the requirement of filing an application with the district in which the pupil resides on or before July 15 of the school year. The bill would require a district which allows a pupil to enroll under K.S.A. 72-1046b to notify the district in which the pupil resides before providing transportation to the student. Any pupil who is being provided such transportation would be counted in the enrollment of the district in which the pupil is enrolled and the district will not be reimbursed transportation costs. This legislation excludes any district with any part of the district being located in Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee, or Wyandotte counties. She stated the whole purpose of the bill was basically to eliminate the July 15 deadline.

Discussion regarding the definition of the 10-mile rule, which district receives transportation money, if any, and which district is allowed to count the student(s) as enrolled followed.

Senator Vratil moved the committee recommend **HB 2595** favorable for passage, as amended March 8, 2010. The motion was seconded by Senator Teichman. The motion carried on a voice vote.

HB 2704 - School districts; relating to consolidation

Theresa Kiernan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, provided a brief explanation of <u>HB 2704</u>. This legislation would authorize the boards of education of any three or more school districts to consolidate into two districts. A floor amendment in the House deleted a provision which would have capped the low enrollment weighting of districts which are less than 200 square miles in area at 400 pupils.

Discussion within the committee was held regarding the restrictiveness consolidating into two districts.

Senator Vratil moved the committee amend **HB 2704** by adding the words "or more" after "1" on page 2, line 21, deleting the italicized words in lines 22 through 24 and inserting a period after the word "district." The motion was seconded by Senator Steineger. The motion carried on a voice vote.

Senator Vratil moved the committee amend **HB 2704** by adding the words "provided the number of consolidated districts is less than the original" following the word "district." The motion was seconded by

CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the Senate Education Committee at 1:30 p.m. on March 17, 2010, in Room 152-S of the Capitol.

Senator Marshall. The motion carried on a voice vote.

Senator Vratil moved the committee recommend **HB 2704**, as amended, favorable for passage. The motion was seconded by Senator Owens. Motion carried on a voice vote.

The meeting was adjourned at 02:05 p.m.