Approved:	5/18/09	
		Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The joint meeting of House and Senate Transportation Committees was called to order by Chairman Dwayne Umbarger at 12:00 p.m. on January 22, 2009, in Room 143-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Senator Anthony Hensley- excused

Committee staff present:

Mike Corrigan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Bruce Kinzie, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department Chris Courtwright, Kansas Legislative Research Department Aaron Klaassen, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department Cindy Shepard, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Deb Miller, Secretary of Transportation, State of Kansas

Others attending:

See attached list.

Chairman Umbarger opened the meeting asking all members to introduce themselves and their districts. Chairman Hayzlett welcomed everyone attending and introduced Deb Miller, Secretary of Transportation, State of Kansas. She thanked the members for the opportunity to speak before the Joint Committee on Transportation and presented "Transportation 101" (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

- Agency At a Glance
- Revenues/Expenditures
- Past Programs
- Current Status of the CTP
- Moving Forward
 - -T-LINK efforts
- Transportation Infrastructure Investment and the Kansas Economy

Following questions and discussion from the joint committee, the meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m. The next meeting of the Senate Transportation Committee is scheduled for January 27, 2009.