Approved:	5/18/09	
		Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dwayne Umbarger at 8:30 a.m. on February 3, 2009, in Room 136-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Senator Anthony Hensley- excused

Committee staff present:

Mike Corrigan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jill Shelley, Kansas Legislative Research Department Cindy Shepard, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Joe Erskin, Deputy of Finance Administration, Kansas Department of Transportation Kyle Schneweis, Chief, Office of Governmental Affairs, Kansas Department of Transportation

Others attending:

See attached list.

Overview on 1989 and 1999 Comprehensive Transportation Plans

Hank Avila, Kansas Legislative Research Department, discussed selected contributing factors for the 1989 and 1999 comprehensive plans (<u>Attachment 1</u>). Mike Corrigan, Office of the Revisor of Statutes, presented information to the committee on legislative intent, transportation agencies, Comprehensive Transportation Program (CTP), CTP financing and cashflow. In addition, copies of the 1989 and 1999 Summary of Legislation, transportation sections, were distributed (<u>Attachment 2</u>).

Joe Erskin, appearing on behalf of the Kansas Department of Transportation, presented to the committee a CTP Historical Funding Summary (<u>Attachment 3</u>).

Kyle Schneweis, representing the Kansas Department of Transportation, provided the committee an overview of their system for project selections (Attachment 4).

The meeting was adjourned at 9:24 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 4, 2009.