Approved:			
	Date		

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Representative Ralph Tanner at 9:00 a.m. on February 10, 2000 in Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: A quorum was present

Committee staff present: Avis Swartzman, Revisor of Statutes

Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department

Renae Jefferies, Revisor of Statutes

Conferees appearing before the committee: Milkin Foundation Recipients:

Kevin E. Burr, Garden City USD 457

R. Bruce Courtney, Basehor-Linwood USD 458

Marshall Cruce, Louisburg USD\$!^ Bruce Graham, Twin Valley USD 240

Others attending: See Attached List

The House Education Committee met jointly with the Senate Education Committee to hear from the Milkin Foundation Recipients. Chairman Tanner called on Dale Dennis, Deputy Education Commissioner, to introduce the recipients.

Mr. Dennis commented on the pleasure the students and others experienced upon learning of their principal or teacher winning the award. He asked each recipient to give a few brief remarks.

Each recipient gave a short biography of his life and career and gave a statement about their philosophy on education.

The committee paused to give the Senate Education Committee time to adjourn to its standing committee room.

Representative Tanner then welcomed Representative Henry Helgerson to the podium to present the Democrat education reform proposals. (Attachment 1) Representative Helgerson stated that education is and should be about the kids, not about party politics. He believes that we should take care of the basics, such as financing and funding educational programs, first. He suggested that funding for school finance should be put into the statutes because the statutory items are always taken care of first in the governor's budget. He stated that we must pay special attention to Special Education and demand that the federal government live up to its commitment to fund Special Education at 40%.

Representative Helgerson thanked the committee for its time and attention; he then stood for questions.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:50.