Approved: April 7, 2000

Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE KANSAS 2000 COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Kenny Wilk at 1:45 p.m. on March 8, 2000 in Room 526-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Tom Sloan - excused

Representative Susan Wagle - excused

Committee staff present: Alan Conroy, Legislative Research Department

Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes Janet Mosser, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Representative Henry Helgerson Shelby Smith, The Shelby Smith Group Ed Flentje, Wichita State University Burdett Loomis, University of Kansas

Others attending: See attached list.

Chairperson Wilk introduced Meagan Goddard and Ashley Lockhart, pages for Representative Barbara Ballard, who were helping at today's meeting.

Chairperson Wilk opened the hearing on <u>HCR 5047 - Constitutional amendment disqualifying legislators</u> who are appointed, elected or employed by the judicial or executive branches.

Representative Henry Helgerson, sponsor and proponent, was recognized to address the committee and explained the purpose of the bill. He reminded the committee of the strong history of separation of powers in Kansas and other states and deferred to others testifying to explain the nuances of the resolution.

Shelby Smith, The Shelby Smith Group, proponent, was recognized to address the committee (Attachment 1).

Ed Flentje, Wichita State University, proponent, was recognized to address the committee (<u>Attachment 2</u>).

Burdett Loomis, University of Kansas, proponent, was recognized to address the committee (Attachment 3).

Questions and discussion followed testimony.

Chairperson Wilk closed the hearing on HCR 5047.

Chairperson Wilk directed the committee's attention to <u>SB 460 - Office of state treasurer, designating certain positions in the unclassified service</u>. Representative Horst moved to pass favorably and put on the consent calendar. The motion was seconded by Representative Campbell. Discussion followed. Chairperson Wilk recognized Tim Shallenburger, State Treasurer, who assisted in answering questions. <u>The motion carried</u>.

Chairperson Wilk adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 9, 2000.