Approved: <u>1-26-00</u>

Date

## MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Steve Morris at 10:00 a.m. on January 25, 2000, in Room 423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present:	Raney Gilliland, Legislative Research Department
	Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
	Nancy Kippes, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Connie Fisher, Director, Agriculture Products Development Division, Kansas Department of Commerce and Housing

Others attending: (See Attached)

Senator Umbarger made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 20, 2000 meeting. Senator Biggs seconded. The motion carried.

Senator Biggs made a motion to introduce a bill that would exempt certain Kansas-grown products from sales tax. Senator Tyson seconded. The motion carried.

Connie Fisher, Director, Agriculture Products Development Division, Kansas Department of Commerce and Housing, introduced her Division staff and gave an overview of the Agriculture Products Development Division's accomplishments for fiscal year 1999, as well as some of the Division's current endeavors (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

The next meeting will be January 26, 2000.