Approved:	February 22, 2000
**	Date

## MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMERCE COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Alicia Salisbury at 8:00 a.m. on February 18, 2000 in Room 123-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Lynne Holt, Legislative Research Department

Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department

Bob Nugent, Revisor of Statutes

Betty Bomar, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Judy A. Moler, Kansas Association of Counties Kim Gulley, League of Kansas Municipalities

Rob Hodges, Kansas Telecommunications Association

Mike Murray, Sprint Jim Yonnally, Cellular One Don Seifert, City of Olathe

Dana Fenton, Johnson County, Kansas Diane M. Gage, Sedgwick County, Kansas

Others attending: See attached list

<u>Upon motion by Senator Umbarger, seconded by Senator Barone, the Minutes of the February 16<sup>th</sup> and February 17<sup>th</sup> Meetings were unanimously approved.</u>

## SCR 1641 - Formation of Enhanced 911 task force

Judy Moler, testified in support of <u>SCR 1641</u> which is legislation requested by the Kansas Association of Counties (KAC). The KAC believes a task force study of the issues addressed in the Legislative Post Audit report on 911 emergency phone systems in Kansas and its recommendations will assist in educating and achieving tax equity for counties providing 911 service. The KAC supports the broad charge of the task force and agrees with the representation on the task force. (<u>Attachment 1</u>)

Lynne Holt, Legislative Research Department, briefed the Committee on SCR 1641 which establishes a task force to develop a strategy for funding and deploying wireless emergency telephone services. The task force is to make recommendations for establishing a mechanism for administering wireless 911 service, a mechanism for funding the service, and a method for recovering costs. The task force is made up of 15 members and includes representatives from the wireless telecommunications industry appointed by the Legislative Coordinating Council; a local exchange carrier other than a rural telephone company designated by the Kansas Telecommunications Association, one member representing a rural telephone company to be appointed by the Legislative Coordinating Council, two members designated by the Kansas Association of Counties, two members designated by the League of Kansas Municipalities, the Adjutant General, Superintendent of the Highway Patrol, Secretary of the Department of Revenue, a member to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one appointed by the House Minority Leader, one appointed by the President of the Senate and one appointed by the Senate Minority Leader. A report of the task force findings and conclusions is to be submitted to the House Committee on Utilities and the Senate Commerce Committee during the first week of the 2001 Session.

Kim Gulley, Director of Policy Development, League of Kansas Municipalities, testified in support of <u>SCR 1641</u>, stating that the League and its member cities support the formation of a task force to study the issues surrounding the 911 system. The League supports the composition of the task force as outlined in <u>SCR 1641</u> and believes it is a balanced representation. (<u>Attachment 2</u>)

## CONTINUATION SHEET

Rob Hodges, Kansas Telecommunications Industry Association, appeared in support of <u>SCR</u> <u>1641</u>,. And to request that a person with a communication disability be included on the task force.

Mike Murray, Sprint, testified in support of SCR 1641.

Jim Yonnally, Cellular One, testified in support of **SCR 1641**.

Don Seifert, Management Services Director, City of Olathe, submitted written testimony in support of <u>SCR 1641</u>. (Attachment 3)

Dana Fenton, Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator, Johnson County, Kansas, submitted written testimony in support of  $\underline{SCR\ 1641}$ . (Attachment 4)

Diane M. Gage, Director, Sedgwick County Emergency Communications, submitted written testimony in support of <u>SCR 1641</u>. (<u>Attachment 5</u>)

The hearing on **SCR 1641** was concluded.

The Committee questioned why the Revenue Department was represented on the task force and not the Kansas Corporation Commission. Staff responded that there would be sales tax issues discussed, and the Corporation Commission does not regulate cellular companies.

Senator Brownlee moved, seconded by Senator Ranson, that SCR 1641 be amended so that designated groups recommend members to be their representatives but the Legislative Coordinating Council makes the actual appointments; that a representative of the Secretary of Revenue not be included; that a person recommended by the Kansas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing be appointed, and that a member of the Kansas Corporation Commission staff be designated if the chairman of the Commission elects not to be a member; and that the Revisor make technical corrections to the Resolution. The voice vote was in favor of the amendments.

<u>Senator Gooch moved, seconded by Senator Feleciano that SCR 1641 be recommended</u> favorably for passage as amended. The recorded vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

SB 521 - Enterprise Zone Act; eligibility for firms which construct or remodel only a portion of a business facility.

Bob Nugent, Revisor of Statutes, distributed a proposed amendments to <u>SB 521</u>, which has been agreed to by both Shirley Sicilian, Department of Revenue, and Steve Kelly, Department of Commerce and Housing. (<u>Attachment 6</u>)

Senator Feleciano moved, seconded by Senator Ranson, that SB 521 be amended on Page 2, Line 16, to strike "the sales tax exemption may be claimed" and inert: "a project exemption certificate may be granted"; on Line 19 to strike "sale" and insert "sales"; on Line 22 after the word "business" to insert: ", as the person may elect". The voice vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

<u>Senator Steffes moved, seconded by Senator Feleciano, that SB 521 be recommended favorably for passage as amended. The recorded vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.</u>

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 21, 2000.