2014 Kansas Statutes

3-163. Same; members. The airport authority established pursuant to K.S.A. 3-162, and amendments thereto, by the city of Wichita shall be composed of nine members. Seven members of the Wichita airport authority shall be residents of the city of Wichita and shall be appointed by the governing body of the city. The remaining two members shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners of Sedgwick county. Each member appointed by the board of county commissioners shall reside in a different county commissioner district. The terms of the members of the authority shall be designated by ordinance, and each shall hold office for such term or until a successor has been appointed and qualified. In the event of death, resignation or other disqualification of any member of the authority, a successor shall be appointed by the appointing authority to fill the unexpired term of such member. Any member of the authority may be removed by the appointing authority for the same cause as any appointive officer.

Members of the airport authority shall receive no compensation for their services but may be reimbursed for all necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as members of such authority. The members of the authority shall give bond to the city in the sum of \$25,000, and the costs thereof shall be paid from the airport operating fund.

History: L. 1975, ch. 5, § 2; L. 1991, ch. 7, § 1; July 1.