## 2014 Kansas Statutes

**12-4001.** Kansas advisory council on intergovernmental relations; membership; terms; officers. (a) There is hereby created a Kansas advisory council on intergovernmental relations. The council shall be composed of 15 members of whom 11 shall be appointed by the governor as follows: (1) Two members shall be elected county officials of which, one shall be a member of a board of county commissioners; (2) two members shall be elected city officials; (3) one member shall be an elected township official; (4) one member shall be an elected school board member; (5) two members shall be executive branch officials; and (6) three members shall be private citizens. Two members of the council shall be members of the Kansas senate of which, one shall be appointed by the president of the senate and one shall be appointed by the minority leader of the senate. Two members of the council shall be members of which, one shall be appointed by the minority leader of the senate by the speaker of the house and one shall be appointed by the minority leader of the senate by the speaker of the house and one shall be the minority leader of the house.

City, county and school board members shall be appointed from lists of at least five nominees submitted by their respective state organizations. Of the members appointed by the governor, no more than seven members shall be from any one political party.

(b) Of the first members appointed by the governor after the effective date of this act, one member of each city and county, the township and school board member, one executive branch member and one private citizen shall hold office for terms of two years beginning July 1, 2002; thereafter all appointments shall be for terms of four years. The remaining members appointed by the governor shall be for terms of four years beginning July 1, 2002; thereafter all appointments shall be appointed by the governor shall be for terms of four years beginning July 1, 2002. Legislative members shall be appointed to terms which correspond to their terms of office. All members may be reappointed. Should any member cease to be a member of the unit, body or agency such person is appointed to represent, such person's membership on the council shall terminate immediately and a new member shall be appointed in the same manner as the predecessor to fill the unexpired term.

(c) Members shall serve without salary but may be reimbursed for travel and other expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the performance of their duties.

(d) The council shall each year elect from its membership a chairperson and a vice-chairperson, who shall serve in such capacities for one year and until their successors have been elected. If both the chairperson and vicechairperson are absent from any meeting, the voting members present shall elect a temporary chairperson by a majority vote.

(e) Eight members of the council shall constitute a quorum. Meetings and subcommittee meetings of the council shall be subject to the open meetings law.

**History:** L. 2002, ch. 189, § 1; July 1.