- **20-3202. Same; membership; not subject to open meetings act; definitions.** (a) The commission shall consist of thirteen members appointed by the judicial council. The council shall appoint commission members of outstanding competence and reputation. Six members of the commission shall be non-lawyers and six members of the commission shall be lawyers, justices or judges. The judicial council shall appoint the chair of the commission, who shall be a lawyer, justice or judge. At least one non-lawyer commission member and at least one lawyer, justice or judge commission member shall reside in each congressional district. The rules of the commission shall provide that the terms of the commission members are staggered.
- (b) For the purposes of K.S.A. 20-3201 through 20-3207, and amendments thereto, the commission shall not be subject to the Kansas open meetings act as provided in K.S.A. 75-4317 et seq., and amendments thereto.
  - (c) As used in K.S.A. 20-3201 through 20-3207, and amendments thereto:
  - (1) "Lawyer" means an attorney registered as active pursuant to supreme court rule.
- (2) "Judge" means: a current or retired Kansas judge of the district court; and a current or retired judge of the Kansas court of appeals.
  - (3) "Justice" means a current or retired justice of the Kansas supreme court.

History: L. 2006, ch. 195, § 2; L. 2008, ch. 145, § 2; L. 2009, ch. 116, § 8; July 1.