## 2014 Kansas Statutes

**74-99f04. Geographic information systems policy board; composition.** (a) There is hereby established the Kansas geographic information systems policy board within the office of information technology services. (b) The board shall consist of 23 members:

(1) The governor shall appoint 11 members as follows: Five representatives of local government, including cities, counties or local government consortia of cities, counties, non-profit and private sector enterprises. Such members may include, but are not limited to, representatives from city and county commissions or planning councils, tribal government, law enforcement, county clerks, county appraisers and emergency planning divisions; two representatives of the board of regents institutions; and two executives representing the private sector. Members from the private sector may include, but are not limited to, representatives from the trucking industry, utilities, telecommunications, publishers, agriculturalists, oil and gas industry, chambers of commerce, aircraft and auto industry and the banking community; and two representatives from relevant statewide businesses or professional organizations, such as statewide associations of groundwater management districts, emergency planning, law enforcement, licensed surveyors and other relevant technical professions or agriculture-related businesses.

(2) The remaining 12 members shall be:

(A) The executive chief information technology officer of the office of information technology services or such officer's designee;

(B) the director of the Kansas water office or such director's designee;

- (C) the state biologist of the Kansas biological survey or the state biologist's designee;
- (D) the state geologist of the Kansas geological survey or the state geologist's designee;
- (E) the executive director of the Kansas historical society or such executive director's designee;
- (F) the secretary of agriculture or such secretary's designee;
- (G) the secretary of health and environment or such secretary's designee;
- (H) the director of legislative research of the legislative research department or such director's designee;
- (I) the secretary of revenue or such secretary's designee;
- (J) the secretary of transportation or such secretary's designee;
- (K) the state librarian or such librarian's designee; and

(L) the executive director of the information network of Kansas or such executive director's designee.

(c) Members appointed by the governor under subsection (b)(1) shall be appointed for a four-year term and until such member's successors are appointed and qualified, except as provided in subsection (d). Members not appointed by the governor under subsection (b)(1) shall serve consistent with their terms of office, employment or appointment.
(d) The governor may remove a member from the board for lack of attendance or lack of participation.

(e) The governor shall select a chairperson and vice-chairperson from among the members of the board who shall serve as chairperson and vice-chairperson at the discretion of the governor. The board may elect other officers among its members and may establish any committees deemed necessary to discharge its duties.

(f) Board members shall not receive compensation, subsistence allowance, mileage or associated expenses from the state. Officers or employees of state agencies who serve on the board shall be authorized to serve on the board as part of their duties.

History: L. 2012, ch. 174, § 4; June 7.