

Testimony: HB 2704, Informed Consent House Children & Seniors Committee March 21, 2018 By: Carolyn Gaughan, CAE, Executive Vice President (Written comments only)

Chairman Davis and members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to provide written testimony **opposing HB 2704** on behalf of the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians (KAFP).

Our concern with HB 2704 is centered on our belief that Kansas' informed consent standard is an appropriate structure to protect the rights of patients in adult care facilities. If other patient care advocates find it not to be so, we recommend bringing all stakeholders together to explore problems and concerns and, together, seek potential solutions.

It has been our experience that interested stakeholders coming together have the potential for achieving optimal results, whether encouraged by legislation or on their own. It provides those on both sides of an issue the opportunity to better understand each other's problems and concerns.

We oppose HB 2704 and urge you not to advance it at this time.

KAFP would be interested in working with other stakeholders to seek a mutually acceptable solution to the problem HB 2704 contemplates resolving.

Thank you, again, for the opportunity to present these written comments. Please don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

About Kansas Academy of Family Physicians:

KAFP represents over 1,730 active, resident, student and life members across the state. *The mission of KAFP is to support and serve family physicians of Kansas as they advance the health of Kansans*. Quality health care and health outcomes for our patients guide our public policy work. As family physicians, we see people of all ages, both men and women, and we work with almost every type of ailment and illness that afflict our patients.

7570 W 21st ST N Bldg. 1026 Suite C 104 Wichita KS 67205 316.721.9005 Fax 316.721.9044 <u>kafp@kafponline.org</u> www.kafponline.org

President John Feehan, MD FAAFP *Olathe*

> President-Elect Jeremy Presley, MD Dodge City

Vice President Sheryl Beard, MD, FAAFP Wichita

Secretary Chad Johanning, MD, FAAFP *Lawrence*

> Treasurer Todd Miller, MD, Wichita

Past-Pres. / Board Chair Lynn Fisher, MD, FAAFP Plainville

AAFP Delegates Jen Brull, MD, FAAFP Plainville Gretchen Irwin, MD, MBA FAAFP, Wichita

AAFP Alternate Delegates Doug Gruenbacher, MD Quinter Jen McKenney, MD, FAAFP Fredonia

Directors

Eric Clarkson, DO, Pratt Debra Doubek, MD, Manhattan Jared Johnson, MD, Wichita Sabrina Markese, MD Kansas City Drew Miller, MD, Lakin Graig Nickel, MD, FAAFP Lawrence Tara Neil, MD, Wichita Justin Overmiller, MD Smith Center F. Ron Seglie, MD, FAAFP Pittsburg Margaret Smith, MD Kansas City

Resident Representative Jonathan Pike, MD, Via Christi Family Medicine Residency

Student Representative Marissa Weaver KUSM-Wichita

Executive Vice President Carolyn Gaughan, CAE