## **Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board**

**Board Members:** Ellen K. Janoski, Chair Bob Kovar, Vice-Chair James L. Mullin II, Member Bob Hall, Member Henry Hungerbeeler, Member



David W. Nickel, Consumer Counsel 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027 Phone: (785) 271-3200 Fax: (785) 271-3116 http://curb.kansas.gov

February 15, 2017 HB 2166 Testimony Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board Testimony in Support

I am David Nickel, Consumer Counsel for the Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board (CURB), which is a five-member voluntary board appointed by our Governor. CURB was made an independent state agency in 1989 by the Kansas legislature. CURB represents residential and small commercial ratepayers in utility cases which are filed with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC).

CURB believes that HB 2166 sets favorable policy because it expressly allows businesses and other entities, such as governmental subdivisions, universities and non-governmental organizations, to own and operate their own electric vehicle charging stations. In the absence of HB 2166, some may argue that the ownership and operation of electric vehicle charging stations is strictly reserved to Kansas utilities in their certified service territories under the public utility act (KSA 66-104, *et seq.*) and Retail Electric Suppliers Act (66-1170, *et seq.*). The existence of such arguments may discourage businesses and other entities from owning and operating electric vehicle charging stations. Consequently, by resolving this question legislatively, HB 2166 furthers the goal of deploying electric vehicle charging stations in a competitive environment as demand for electric vehicles in Kansas develops.

The policy set forth in HB 2166 is not novel. Many states have enacted legislation exempting electric vehicle charging stations which are owned and operated by entities on their premises from utility regulation. Several notable organizations support that policy.