

Representing 107,000 Seniors in Johnson County.

## **Executive Committee**

Chuck Nigro, Chair Gene Lipscomb, Vice Chair Patti Rule Patricia Burton Sheryl Spalding

## **Members**

Stephanie Clayton
Pam Conaghan
Charlotte Esau
Katy Hoffman
Paula Hurt
Kim Mann
Clemme Rambo
Carol Sader
Dale Warman
Karen Weber

## Board of County Commissioners Liaison

Commissioner Jim Allen

## Area Agency on Aging

Dan Goodman, Director

c/o Area Agency on Aging 11811 South Sunset Drive Suite 1300 Olathe, KS 66061-7056

913-715-8860/ Phone 913-715-8825/ Fax

February 10, 2017

Chairman Dan Hawkins House Health and Human Services Committee Kansas Legislature Topeka, KS

Re: Support of Dental Therapists – HB 2139 (written testimony)

Dear Chairman Hawkins and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for this opportunity to provide written testimony in support of HB 2139. The Johnson County Commission on Aging advocates for over a 107,000 seniors. We are the advisory support group to the Johnson County AAA and are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Our 2017 Legislative Platform includes support of the establishment of Dental Therapists to work under the guidance of a licensed dentist to provide services to older Kansans

The data is very clear that Kansans do not have access to dental care. This is especially true in the more rural counties and nursing homes throughout the state. It is also clear that providing oral care to older persons has a positive impact on the medical condition of the individual. Heart disease, diabetes, weight loss and other physical health problems improve with good oral care.

It is clear that seniors will benefit from HB 2139 and the establishment of dental therapists in Kansas. Improved health and quality of life will be realized for seniors who would be able to access dental care through the dental therapist. As such, we support HB 2139 which would establish dental therapists in Kansas.

Thank you for this opportunity to present written testimony and we are pleased to support HB 2139.

Respectfully yours,
Johnson County Commission on Aging

C: Dan Goodman, Director, Area Agency on Aging Commissioner Allen, BOCC Liaison to Commission on Aging Debbie Collins, Director, Human Services Department

