MINUTES

JOINT COMMITTEE ON STATE BUILDING CONSTRUCTION

January 11, 2018 Room 159-S—Statehouse

Members Present

Representative Adam Lusker, Chairperson
Senator Rick Billinger, Vice-chairperson
Senator Marci Francisco
Senator Laura Kelly
Senator Carolyn McGinn
Senator John Skubal
Representative Steve Alford
Representative J. R. Claeys
Representative Jeff Pittman, appointed substitute member to the committee
Representative Scott Schwab, appointed substitute member to the committee

Members Absent

Representative John Alcala - Excused Representative Steve Huebert - Excused

Staff Present

Shirley Morrow, Kansas Legislative Research Department Mark Savoy, Kansas Legislative Research Department David Wiese, Office of Revisor of Statutes Jill Wolters, Office of Revisor of Statutes Leah Robinson, Committee Assistant

Others Attending

See Attached List.

General Information

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Lusker at 11:45 a.m.

Chairperson Lusker informed the Committee the House Speaker appointed Representative Schwab to replace Representative Huebert (<u>Attachment 1</u>) and the House Minority Leader appointed Representative Pittman to replace Representative Alcala for this meeting (<u>Attachment 2</u>). Chairperson Lusker thanked the staff for their support during his tenure as Chairperson of the Committee.

Senator McGinn moved to approve the Joint Committee on State Building Construction interim committee report for 2017. Representative Schwab seconded the motion. <u>The motion carried</u>.

Shirley Morrow, Kansas Legislative Research Department (KLRD), noted the receipt of some statutorily required reports that are for general information, and indicated the Committee need not do anything with them unless Committee members have questions or require further information. Ms. Morrow also provided the Committee with additional information, including the status and current balance of the state building funds (<u>Attachment 3</u>) and debt service and capital improvement recommendations contained in Volume 1 of the Governor's Budget Recommendation (<u>Attachment 4</u>).

Election of Chairperson and Vice-chairperson

Pursuant to statute, nominations were taken for chairperson of the Committee. In an even-numbered year, the chairperson is to come from the Senate and the vice-chairperson from the House of Representatives.

Senator McGinn moved to nominate Senator Billinger as chairperson of the Committee, seconded by Representative Pittman. Representative Alford moved for nominations to cease and that the Committee cast a unanimous vote for Senator Billinger, seconded by Senator McGinn. The motion carried.

Senator Billinger thanked Representative Lusker for his service as chairperson, and opened the nominations for vice-chairperson.

Representative Schwab moved to nominate Representative Claeys as vice-chairperson of the Committee, seconded by Senator Kelly. Representative Alford moved for nominations to cease and that the Committee cast a unanimous vote for Representative Claeys, seconded by Senator McGinn. The motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 pm.

Prepared by Leah Robinson Edited by Shirley Morrow

Approved by the Committee on:

February 6, 2018
(Date)