HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6034

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University debate team.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University debate team competed in the 24th Annual National Parliamentary Debate Association National Championship held in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and they returned with two teams named co-champions: Ryan Kelly and Kaitlyn Bull; and Will Starks and Quintin Brown; and

WHEREAS, For the fourth time in eight years, the debate team won the Squad Sweepstakes National Championship, which is awarded to teams based on their success throughout the entire debate season; and

WHEREAS, The debate team scored victories over 63 other nationally ranked, parliamentary-style debate teams to bring home top honors from the invitation-only $17^{\rm th}$ Annual National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence (NPTE), which is hosted by Colorado State University. This is the second time the debate team has won this national tournament; and

WHEREAS, At the NPTE, three Washburn students were ranked among the best 100 collegiate parliamentary debaters in the United States: Senior Kaitlyn Bull, second; senior Quintin Brown, third; and senior Ryan Kelly, fourth; and

WHEREAS, The debate team defeated 26 other teams from 13 universities to win first and second place at the inaugural National Round Robin of Parliamentary Debate Competition hosted by William Jewell College; and

WHEREAS, The debate team is sponsored and coached by Dr. Kevin O'Leary, Director of Forensics and lecturer of Communications Studies at Washburn University: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Washburn University debate team for their success during the 2016-2017 season, and we commend them for the outstanding way in which they represent Washburn University and the State of Kansas.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.