SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1709

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the individuals selected as award-winning educators in Kansas.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, provides recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Stephanie Conklin, Principal at Brougham Elementary School in Olathe USD 233, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2016 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, which is a voluntary process, is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practices; and

WHEREAS, Deborah Abernathy, Olathe South High School, Olathe USD 233, and Arthur Ballos, Wichita East High School, Wichita USD 259, have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, to be designated as 2016 National Board Certified Teachers; and

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named 2017 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its 15th year and sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Alexandria Acton, Union Valley Elementary School, Buhler USD 313; Rebecca Burnfin, Bernadine Sitts Intermediate Center, Garden City USD 457; Olivia Casey, Ellinwood Grade School, Ellinwood USD 355; Jeremy Holiday, Saint George Elementary School, Rock Creek USD 323; Carter Kruger, Liberal High School, Liberal USD 480; Anna Nusser, Chapman High School, Chapman USD 473; Jesse Todd, Plum Creek Elementary School, Buhler USD 313, Ashley Winger, Salina West Alternative Program, Salina USD 305; and

Region 2: Ariel Beam, Chanute Elementary School, Chanute USD 413; Jillian Brock, Community Elementary School, Coffeyville USD 445; Jennifer Daley, Shawnee Heights High School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Margaret LaPiana, Hillcrest Elementary School, Lawrence USD 497; Roger Laubengayer-Mena, Highland Park High School, Topeka USD 501; Tyler Riedel, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Kelsey Stolt, West Middle School, Lawrence USD 497; Michael Vander Liden, Burlington High School, Burlington USD 244; and

Region 3: Lauren Aiello, Turner Middle School, Turner USD 202; Matthew Baker, Shawnee Mission West Middle School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Shelby Hansen, Lakewood Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Kimberly Ingraham, Pleasant Ridge Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Courtney MacCallum, Stanley Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Penny Seifert, Turner Sixth Grade Academy, Turner USD 202; Heathyr Shaw, Mill Valley High School, De Soto USD 232; Stephanie Wilhite, Brookridge Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; and

Region 4: Jill Bajaj, Robinson Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Carly Bowden, Andover Central Middle School, Andover USD 385; Olivia Burbach, Lawrence Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Cady Jackson, Valley Center High School, Valley Center USD 262; Mallory Keefe, Jefferson Elementary School, El Dorado USD 490; Nova Latta, Chisholm Middle School, Newton USD 373; Michael Russell, Complete High School Maize, Maize USD 266; Alexis Schirmer, Vermillion Elementary School, Maize USD 266: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these outstanding educators; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 36 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored, plus one copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1709 was sponsored by Senator Molly Baumgardner.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.