19-202. Commissioners; residence requirements; term; filling vacancies; charter counties, exceptions. (a) The board of county commissioners of each county shall consist of three, five or seven qualified electors.

(b) Except as provided in K.S.A. 2018 Supp. 19-204b, and amendments thereto, one county commissioner shall reside in and represent each commissioner district within the county. During the time that any person is a candidate for nomination or election to office as a member of the board of county commissioners and during the term of office of the county commissioner, such candidate or county commissioner shall be and remain a qualified elector who resides in such person's district.

(c) Except as provided by K.S.A. 19-203, and amendments thereto, terms of office for the board of county commissioners shall be staggered in such a way that no more than a simple majority of commissioners is elected at any general election.

(d) Except as provided by K.S.A. 19-203, and amendments thereto, all county commissioners shall hold office for a term of four years from the second Monday of January next after their election and until their successors are qualified.

(e) The provisions of subsections (a), (c) and (d) of this section may be modified by the adoption of a charter for county government in any county which has established a charter commission pursuant to law.

History: R.S. 1923, 19-202; L. 1965, ch. 158, § 1; L. 1976, ch. 121, § 3; L. 1979, ch. 67, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 38, § 2; L. 1993, ch. 250, § 2; L. 2009, ch. 134, § 4; May 28.

Revisor's Note:

Special provision for Sherman County, see 19-204b.