**74-5207.** Creative arts industries commission; composition. (a) There is hereby created within the department of commerce the Kansas creative arts industries commission to measure, promote, support and expand the creative industries to drive the Kansas economy, grow jobs and enhance the quality of life for all Kansans.

(b) (1) The commission shall consist of 11 members, serving for terms of three years. Members may be reappointed to a term of three years. Members may not serve more than two terms and are not eligible for reappointment following the end of such member's second term of office. There shall always be at least one member from each congressional district. The members of the commission shall include: Two members appointed by the president of the senate; one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate; two members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; one member appointed by the minority leader of the governor shall be appointed for terms of three years, except that, in the initial appointment, three of the members shall be appointed for two-year terms and two shall be appointed for three-year terms. The governor shall designate the term for which each of the members first appointed shall serve. The commission shall convene annually by the 20th day of the legislative session and elect a chairperson and a vice-chairperson from among its members.

(2) The members of the commission shall be broadly representative of the major fields of the arts and related creative industries and shall be appointed from among private citizens who are widely known for having competence and experience in connection with the arts and related creative industries or business leaders with an interest in promoting the arts and the creative industries, as well as having knowledge of community and state interests. In making these appointments, the appointing authorities shall seek and consider those recommended for membership by persons or organizations involved in civic, educational, business, labor, professional, cultural, ethnic or performing and creative arts fields.

(c) The commission shall meet on the call of the chair, but not less than four times during each calendar year. Six members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. Meetings may take place in various locations across Kansas. Members of the commission attending meetings of such division, or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof, authorized by such division, shall be paid compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto. Employment by the state, or any instrumentality or subdivision of the state, shall not prevent any person from accepting appointment to and serving on the advisory board.

History: L. 2012, ch. 111, § 2; July 1.