Journal of the Senate

FOURTEENTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Friday, January 31, 2020, 8:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order pro forma by Senator Eric Rucker.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Agriculture and Natural Resources: **SB 345**. Ethics, Elections and Local Government: **SB 351**. Financial Institutions and Insurance: **SB 347**.

Public Health and Welfare: SB 349, SB 350; ERO 44.

Utilities: ERO 46.

Ways and Means: SB 346, SB 348; ERO 45.

MESSAGES FROM THE GOVERNOR

January 22, 2020

To the Senate of the Sate of Kansas:

Submitted herewith for confirmation by the Senate are appointments made by me as the Governor of the State of Kansas, pursuant to law.

Laura Kelly Governor

Kansas Adjutant General, David Weishaar, Topeka, (R) pursuant to the authority vested in me by KSA 48-203 and effective upon the date of confirmation by the Senate, to serve at the pleasure of the governor, succeeding Lee Tafanelli.

January 24, 2020

To the Senate of the Sate of Kansas:

Submitted herewith for confirmation by the Senate are appointments made by me as the Governor of the State of Kansas, pursuant to law.

Laura Kelly Governor

Labor Representative, Human Rights Commission, Laurel Searles, Topeka, (D) pursuant to the authority vested in me by KSA 44-1003, and effective upon the date of

confirmation by the Senate, to serve a term of four years, to succeed Jonathon Westbrook.

TRIBUTES

The Committee on **Organization, Calendar, and Rules** authorizes the following tributes for the week of January 27 through January 31, 2020:

Senator Berger: celebrating Arthur Dick's 100th Birthday;

Senator Bowers: congratulating Kalee Ragsdale on winning the "If I Were Mayor" Essay Contest;

Senator Faust-Goudeau: celebrating the 9th Annual "Art that Touches the Heart" Event, commending Dr. Marche Fleming-Randle on her work with the "Art that Touches the Heart" Event;

Senator Francisco: congratulating Emma Katherine Milburn on receiving the Girl Scout Gold Award:

Senator Hilderbrand: congratulating Kurt Grotheer, Crawford County Sheriff's Department, on being named the Kansas Deputy of the Year; and

Senator Miller: congratulating Shawn Hornung on being named a 2019 Regional Teacher of the Year.

On motion of Senator Denning, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Monday, February 3, 2020.

CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.

П