## Journal of the House

Hall of the House of Representatives, Topeka, KS, Monday, December 3, 2018, 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 46-142, those members elected at the General Election, November 6, 2018, convened at 10:00 a.m.

The meeting was called to order by Bryan Caskey, Director of Elections, who presented the following certification.

## State of Kansas Secretary of State

I, Kris W. Kobach, Secretary of State, do hereby certify that the following persons were elected members of the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas for a two year term beginning on the second Monday of January, A.D. 2019.

District District		rict
Michael Houser	$26^{th}$	Adam Thomas
Kenneth Collins	$27^{th}$	,
Monica Murnan	$28^{th}$	Kellie Warren
Trevor Jacobs	$29^{th}$	Brett Parker
Mark Samsel	$30^{\text{th}}$	Brandon Woodard
Jene Vickrey	$31^{st}$	Louis E. Ruiz
Richard J. Proehl		Pam Curtis
Chris Croft	$33^{rd}$	Tom Burroughs
Kent L. Thompson	$34^{th}$	Valdenia C. Winn
Eileen Horn	$35^{th}$	Broderick Henderson
Jim Kelly	$36^{th}$	Kathy Wolfe Moore
Doug Blex	$37^{th}$	Stan Frownfelter
Larry P. Hibbard	$38^{th}$	Willie Dove
Charlotte Esau	$39^{th}$	Owen Donohoe
John Toplikar	$40^{\text{th}}$	David W. French
Cindy Holscher	$41^{st}$	Jeff Pittman
Tom Cox	$42^{nd}$	Jim Karleskint
Cindy Neighbor	$43^{rd}$	Bill Sutton
Stephanie S. Clayton	$44^{th}$	Barbara W. Ballard
Jan H. Kessinger	$45^{th}$	Mike Amyx
Jerry Stogsdill	$46^{th}$	Dennis "Boog" Highberger
Nancy Lusk	$47^{th}$	Ronald B. Ellis
Susan Ruiz	$48^{th}$	David L. Benson
Jarrod Ousley	$49^{th}$	Megan Lynn
Rui Xu	$50^{\text{th}}$	Fred C. Patton
	Michael Houser Kenneth Collins Monica Murnan Trevor Jacobs Mark Samsel Jene Vickrey Richard J. Proehl Chris Croft Kent L. Thompson Eileen Horn Jim Kelly Doug Blex Larry P. Hibbard Charlotte Esau John Toplikar Cindy Holscher Tom Cox Cindy Neighbor Stephanie S. Clayton Jan H. Kessinger Jerry Stogsdill Nancy Lusk Susan Ruiz Jarrod Ousley	Michael Houser Kenneth Collins Nonica Murnan 28th Trevor Jacobs 29th Mark Samsel Jene Vickrey 31st Richard J. Proehl 32nd Chris Croft 33rd Kent L. Thompson 34th Eileen Horn 35th Jim Kelly Doug Blex Larry P. Hibbard Charlotte Esau John Toplikar Cindy Holscher Tom Cox Cindy Neighbor Stephanie S. Clayton Jan H. Kessinger Jerry Stogsdill Nancy Lusk Susan Ruiz Jarrod Ousley 20th Mark Sught 30th 32nd 32nd 32nd 32nd 32nd 32nd 32nd 32nd

Distr	ict	Distri	ict
$51^{st}$	Ron Highland	$88^{th}$	Elizabeth Bishop
$52^{nd}$	Brenda S. Dietrich	$89^{th}$	KC Ohaebosim
$53^{\rm rd}$	Jim Gartner	$90^{th}$	Steve Huebert
$54^{th}$	Ken Corbet	$91^{st}$	Emil M. Bergquist
55 <sup>th</sup>	Annie Kuether	$92^{nd}$	John Carmichael
56 <sup>th</sup>	Virgil Weigel	$93^{\text{rd}}$	J.C. Moore
$57^{th}$	John Alcala	$94^{th}$	Leo G. Delperdang
$58^{th}$	Vic Miller	$95^{th}$	Tom Sawyer
59 <sup>th</sup>	Blaine Finch	$96^{th}$	Brandon J. Whipple
$60^{th}$	Mark Schreiber	$97^{th}$	Nick J. Hoheisel
$61^{st}$	Francis Awerkamp	$98^{th}$	Ron Howard
$62^{nd}$	Randy Garber	$99^{th}$	Susan Humphries
$63^{\rm rd}$	John R. Eplee	$100^{th}$	Daniel Hawkins
$64^{th}$	Susan "Suzi" L. Carlson		Joe Seiwert
$65^{th}$	Lonnie Clark		Jason Probst
$66^{th}$	Sydney Carlin		Ponka-We Victors
$67^{th}$	Tom Phillips		Paul Waggoner
$68^{th}$	Dave Baker		Brenda K. Landwehr
$69^{th}$	J.R. Claeys		Bill Pannbacker
$70^{th}$	John E. Barker		Susan L. Concannon
$71^{\rm st}$	Diana Dierks		Steven Johnson
72 <sup>nd</sup>	Tim Hodge		Troy L. Waymaster
73 <sup>rd</sup>	Les Mason		Ken Rahjes
74 <sup>th</sup>	Stephen Owens		Barbara K. Wasinger
75 <sup>th</sup>	Will Carpenter		Tory Marie Arnberger
$76^{th}$	Eric L. Smith	113 <sup>th</sup>	Greg Lewis
$77^{\text{th}}$	Kristey S. Williams		Jack Thimesch
$78^{th}$	Ron Ryckman		Boyd Orr
79 <sup>th</sup>	Cheryl Helmer		Kyle D. Hoffman
$80^{th}$	Bill Rhiley		Leonard A. Mastroni
81 <sup>st</sup>	Blake Carpenter		Don Hineman
82 <sup>nd</sup>	Jesse Burris		Bradley Ralph
83 <sup>rd</sup>	Henry Helgerson		Adam Smith
84 <sup>th</sup>	Gail Finney		John Resman
85 <sup>th</sup>	Michael Capps		J. Russell "Russ" Jennings
86 <sup>th</sup>	Jim Ward		John P. Wheeler, Jr.
$87^{th}$	Renee Erickson		Martin "Marty" Long
		125 <sup>th</sup>	Shannon Francis

In Testimony Whereof, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused to be affixed my official seal this  $3 \mathrm{rd}$  day of December, A.D. 2018.

Kris W. Kobach Secretary of State Eric Rucker Assistant Secretary of State 122 members-elect were present.

Assistant Secretary of State Bryan Caskey appointed Member-Elect Barker to serve as temporary chairperson.

Mr. Barker announced the meeting would recess until the sound of the gavel for the respective party caucuses.

Mr. Barker called the meeting to order pursuant to recess.

Majority Party Caucus Chairperson Susan Humphries submitted the following report:

The members-elect of the majority party of the House of Representatives have met and caucused as required by K.S.A. 46-142, and:

- (a) Nominate as their candidate for the following offices for the next ensuing biennium:
  - (1) Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ron Ryckman
  - (2) Speaker Pro Tem of the House of Representatives, Blaine Finch
  - (b) Select the following caucus or party officers:
    - (1) Majority Leader, Dan Hawkins
    - (2) Assistant Majority Leader, Les Mason
    - (3) Majority Whip, Blake Carpenter
    - (4) Caucus Chairperson, Susan Humphries

Minority Party Caucus Chairperson Barbara Ballard submitted the following report: The members-elect of the minority party of the House of Representatives have met

and caucused as required by K.S.A. 46-142, and have selected the following caucus or party officers.

- (a) Minority Leader, Tom Sawyer
- (b) Assistant Minority Leader, Valdenia Winn
- (c) Minority Whip, Jim Gartner
- (d) Agenda Chairperson, Brett Parker
- (e) Caucus Chairperson, Barbara Ballard
- (f) Policy Chairperson, Eileen Horn

On motion of Member-Elect Hawkins the caucus reports were received and ordered entered into the Journal.

Mr. Barker declared the House adjourned until 2:00 p.m., Monday, January 14, 2019.

JENNY HAUGH, JULIA WERNER, Journal Clerks.
SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.