Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
Aug. 7, 2022
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A

Minutes for HB2370 - Committee on Taxation

Short Title

Providing for an increase in motor fuel taxes and rate trips.

Minutes Content for Tue, Mar 12, 2019

Representative Proehl provided an overview of the Transportation Task Force  which was comprised of thirty-four members on the Committee.   He remarked KDOT was an important part of the task force who hired Burns & McDonnell as a consultant and facilitator for the meetings.  The format of the meetings consisted of a morning session regarding topics of interest to the Committee members and the afternoon session was open to the local community to come and speak about their wants and needs for their community.  He commented the priorities of the Task Force are preservation spending approximately $500. million a year, finishing 21 T-Works projects in four years, and expansion of roads and highway systems  (Attachment 2), (Attachment 3).

Mr. Siebers provided an overview on HB2370 stating that on July 1, 2020 the motor fuels tax would increase for all classes except special fuels.  He noted starting in 2020 there would be a 0.1 cent increase for three years which means a 0.3 cent increase on all fuels.  Mr. Siebers also provided an overview on HB2381 stating the bill would change the percentage of motor fuel tax collections credited to the State Highway Fund and the Special City and County Highway Fund.

Representative Helgerson provided a handout showing the history of Kansas state fuel and tax and trip permit rates (Attachment 4).


Jason Watkins, Wichita Regional Chamber of Commerce testified as a proponent for HB2370 (Attachment 5).

Scott Heidner, American Council of Engineering Companies testified as a proponent for HB2370  (Attachment 6).

Michael White, Kansas Contractors Association testified as a proponent for HB2370  (Attachment 7), (Attachment 8)

Written testimony was submitted by the following as proponent for HB2370:

Travis Stryker, P.E., Kansas Society of Professional Engineers (Attachment 9).

Jacqueline Clark, Ash Grove Cement Company, written testimony as for HB2370 and HB2381 (Attachment 10)


Lindsey Douglas, Kansas Department of Transportation testified as neutral to HB2370 (Attachment 11).

Ed DeSoignie, Economic Lifelines Kansas testified as neutral to HB2370 (Attachment 12).


Tom Whitaker, Kansas Motors Carriers Association testified in opposition to HB2370 (Attachment 13).

Bob Alderson, Casey's General Stores, Inc., testified in opposition to HB2370 and HB2381 (Attachment 14).

Eric Stafford, Kansas Chamber, testified in opposition to HB2370 and HB2381 (Attachment 15)

Tom Palace, Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association of Kansas testified in opposition to HB2370 and HB2381, (Attachment 16).

Written testimony in opposition to HB2370 was submitted by the following:

Michael Austin, Kansas Policy Institute, (Attachment 17)

Shahira Stafford, Kansas Cooperative Council, (Attachment 18).

Randy Stookey, KS Grain & Feed Assn., KS Agribusiness Retailers Ass., Renew Kansas Association (Attachment 19).

Dan Murray, National Federation of Independent Business submitted written testimony in opposition for HB2370 and HB2381, (Attachment 20).

Alison Leiszler Bridges submitted written testimony in opposition for HB2370 and HB2381, (Attachment 21)

Hearing closed on HB2370.